SLC Inter-Provincial Limited Over Tournament final January 26, 2011

Kandurata take title after 53-run win

ESPNcricinfo staff

Kandurata 225 (Sangakkara 57, Yohan de Silva 48) beat Basnahira 172 (Dilshan 67, Boralessa 4- 30) by 53 runs

Left-arm spinner Sohan Boralessa's four wickets proved crucial as Kandurata beat Basnahira by 53 runs in a low-scoring final at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Kandurata had struggled early in their innings, losing two wickets for 28, but captain Kumar Sangakkara, who made 57, and Yohan de Silva, who made 48, put together a 98-run partnership to help them rebuild.

Another quick flurry of wickets pegged them back in the middle overs, but Farveez Maharoof and Nuwan Kulasekara had an important 53-run partnership for the seventh wicket that came off just 39 balls and ensured Kandurata went past the 220-run mark.

Basnahira got off to a brisk start in their chase, reaching 63 for 1 in the eleventh over. Boralessa struck, taking a couple of quick wickets as Basnahira found themselves 79 for 4. Dilshan tried to play the anchor role, taking 90 balls for his 67, but Boralessa got him too, leaving Basnahira in trouble.

Muttiah Muralitharan got into the act, taking two wickets and soon Basnahira were 136 for 8. Roshen Silva hung around for a while, scoring 31 off 52, but Basnahira fell well short of the target in the end. Silva was the final wicket to fall, giving Boralessa his fourth scalp.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dhanusha on January 28, 2011, 4:13 GMT

    nice work Boraaa !!! u deserve to be in the Sri Lankan teamm...

  • Thisara on January 27, 2011, 4:03 GMT

    Best batsman should be T M Dilshan. Any way congts to Kandutara team. ThisaraP

  • No featured comments at the moment.