South Africa in Sri Lanka 2006 July 17, 2006

Rangana Herath included in Sri Lankan squad

Rangana Herath will have a chance to impress against South Africa © AFP

Rangana Herath and Marvan Atapattu have been named in Sri Lanka's 20-member squad for the Test series against South Africa and the tri-series involving India and South Africa in August. Jehan Mubarak and Nuwan Kulasekara are the only players from the squad that toured England in June to miss out.

Ashantha de Mel, the chairman of selectors, said that the squad of 20 was selected with the 2007 World Cup in mind. "We think this will be the nucleus of players from which the final 14 will be selected for the World Cup," said de Mel. "That is why we have included Atapattu even though he is not available for the Test and one-day series. There maybe a few changes to the squad as we go along."

de Mel said that in the absence of Atapattu, Mahela Jayawardene will be asked to continue as captain for the Test and one-day next month. "Marvan is recovering from a back operation and he is not likely to be fully fit until the Champions Trophy tournament in October. Mahela will be asked to continue until such time Marvan recovers."

Under Jayawardene, Sri Lanka drew the Test series in England 1-1 before winning the one-day series 5-0.

Squad: Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Marvan Atapattu, Michael Vandort, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Ruchira Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Malinga Bandara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Zoysa, Prasanna Jayawardene