India in South Africa 2010-11 December 21, 2010

India at full strength for South Africa ODIs

ESPNcricinfo staff

India have named a full-strength squad for the ODI and Twenty20 series in South Africa, which is their last international limited-overs assignment before the 2011 World Cup begins in February. Piyush Chawla, the legspinner, is the only new name in the 16-man list, having played an ODI last in 2008. Ravindra Jadeja has been left out of the team while Yusuf Pathan, who impressed during the home series against New Zealand, has been retained.

The squad comprises six batsmen, wicketkeeper MS Dhoni, allrounder Yusuf and eight bowlers - five quicks and three spinners, including R Ashwin, who's followed up his success in the IPL and the Champions League with strong performances in ODIs. Ishant Sharma, who hasn't played ODIs since the trip to Sri Lanka in August, was also left out of the mix.

Sachin Tendulkar, who has opted out of one-day matches since his 200 against South Africa in Gwalior this February, will return to the format and partner Virender Sehwag at the top in order to get match practice in the lead-up to the World Cup.

The other players who've featured in ODIs for India in the recent past but haven't been picked, following the return of the big names, are batsmen Rohit Sharma and Saurabh Tiwary.

Squad: MS Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, R Ashwin, Yusuf Pathan, Piyush Chawla, S Sreesanth.