Cricket at The Parks can be traced back to 1881 when a Dr Evans, the master of Pembroke College, leased 10 acres in the university parks (an area occupying 65 acres in all). The setting makes it one of the most picturesque venues in the country, and aside from the pavilion the tree-lined ground is not enclosed on any side. Although that is very much part of its charm, it has meant that it is impossible to charge admission fees and so major games have had to be played elsewhere. Its very isolation helps to make the pavilion even more impressive. Built in 1881, it embodies old-world charm. As is the case with Cambridge, Oxford were able to field strong sides through to the 1950s when changing admission policies and priorities led to a decline in the OUCC's strength.
The Parks is approximately one mile from the city centre and the railway station. Map Click here HotelsClick here