Willie Jones      

Full name William Edward Jones

Born October 31, 1916, Carmarthen, Wales

Died July 25, 1996, Gloucester (aged 79 years 268 days)

Major teams Glamorgan

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Slow left-arm orthodox

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 Ct St
First-class 345 563 64 13536 212* 27.12 11 120 0
Bowling averages
Mat Runs Wkts BBI Ave 5w 10
First-class 345 5782 192 5/50 30.11 3 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1937 - 1958
Profile

In 1948 Willie Jones created a unique place for himself in Glamorgan`s history, by hitting two double hundreds within the space of a fortnight, with 207 against Kent at Gravesend, followed by an unbeaten 212 against Essex at Brentwood.

  • Read More
Latest Photos

1951

Willie Jones batting against the 1951 South Africans

Willie Jones batting against the 1951 South Africans

© Glamorgan County Cricket Club

1949

Willie Jones sweeping against Essex at Ilford in 1949

Jones sweeps

© Glamorgan County Cricket Club

1948

A posed picture of Willie Jones

Willie Jones

© Glamorgan County Cricket Club

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 11:50 EDT | 10:50 CDT | 08:50 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 11:50 EDT | 10:50 CDT | 08:50 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 11:50 EDT | 10:50 CDT | 08:50 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days