South Africa in Australia, 2005-06 November 26, 2005

Kemp selected for Australian Tests

Cricinfo staff

Kemp has played some destructive innings since is return to the one-day side © Getty Images

Justin Kemp has been rewarded for his recent match-winning performances in one-day internationals with a recall to the South African Test team for the tour of Australia. He is joined in the 14-man squad by Garnett Kruger, the uncapped Lions seamer.

Kemp played the last of his three Tests against West Indies in Jamaica during the 2000-01 tour, but since returning to the one-day team against England in January has averaged over 40 with the bat. His inclusion comes at the expense of Andrew Hall, who is currently on the tour of India, and can again feel unfortunate to be the player to miss out.

South Africa's convenor of selectors, Haroon Lorgat, explained the decision: "Justin Kemp received the nod from the selectors after displaying the character needed at international level during his one-day performances in the past year."

"I really do feel for a player like Andrew who always performs with passion and does not deserve to be left behind. But we opted for a 14-man squad with (Jacques) Kallis and (Shaun) Pollock as our allrounders and the rest, specialists."

Meanwhile Kruger, 28, has been rewarded for an impressive start to the domestic season where he has taken 37 wickets at 20.10 in five matches. He is preferred to Monde Zondeki who was part of South African squad that toured West Indies in April and May but has failed to fire for his new team, the Cape Cobras, so far this season.

Herschelle Gibbs and Nicky Boje both return after opting out of the current trip to India and Boje is the sole spin option for Graeme Smith after the selectors overlooked Robin Petersen, Johan Botha and Justin Ontong who are part of the one-day squad.

The first Test starts in Perth on December 16, followed by the traditional Boxing Day Test at Melbourne and New Year match at Sydney.

South Africa squad Graeme Smith (capt), AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher (wk), Shaun Pollock, Nicky Boje, Makhaya Ntini, Andre Nel, Charl Langeveldt, Garnett Kruger.