22-man squad for 2006-07 April 1, 2006

South Africa name strong High Performance squad

Cricinfo staff

Paul Adams has the chance to force his way back into the South African team © Getty Images
Paul Adams and Neil McKenzie have been given a chance to resurrect their Test careers after being named in the 22-man squad that will form part of Cricket South Africa's High Performance Programme (HPP). This is aimed at widening the pool of players capable of success at international level.

Young players who have had a taste of Test cricket such as Dale Steyn and Thami Tsolekile also feature, while there is room for Johan Botha, the offspinner, who is currently suspended from bowling after his action was reported during South Africa's tour of Australia.

Vince van der Bijl, CSA's general manager of professional cricket, said: "The HPP, the brainchild of CEO Gerald Majola, has been established to elevate the next tier of potential Protea cricketers to be Test and ODI ready. It is an HPP criteria that players who have been chosen are close to selection for South Africa.

"The programme is designed to optimise the players' full potential to produce a complete holistic professional Test and ODI cricketer. It is a fast-track process to assist cricketers to take that step up to international cricket.

"This is the second year of the programme and the national selectors have chosen a squad of 22 players. Other players on the fringe of selection, as well as some members of the Protea squad, will also be invited to attend the programme.

"The selectors have maintained their policy of consistency, as well as giving certain players who have not played for South Africa for a number of years the opportunity of re-establishing themselves like Paul Adams, Mfuneko Ngam and Thami Tsolekile."

Van der Bijl said the HPP would hold two camps for each discipline: batting, fast bowling and spin bowling. He added that the fast bowling camps would be run by Allan Donald and Gary Kirsten will be heading up the batting module.

"Gary developed the programme last year, and has subsequently started his own coaching operation in Cape Town. A combination of Denys Hobson, Pat Symcox and Terry Jenner, Shane Warne's mentor, will handle the spinning camps."

HPP squad Hashim Amla, Paul Adams, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Cliffie Deacon, JP Duminy, Paul Harris, Davy Jacobs, Garnett Kruger, Neil McKenzie, Albie Morkel, Mfuneko Ngam, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Andrew Puttick, Dale Steyn, Roger Telemachus, Alfonoso Thomas, Thandi Tshabalala, Thami Tsolekile, Johan van der Wath, Monde Zondeki