Twenty20 World Championship

South Africa to host inaugural Twenty20

Cricinfo staff

April 30, 2006

Text size: A | A

Click here for a list of all events awarded by the ICC

South Africa will host the inaugural Twenty20 World Championship in September next year, the ICC announced in Dubai. The tournament will feature 12 countries, including all 10 Test-playing countries, in a nine-day event.

"The members of the ICC board have embraced Twenty20 cricket while at the same time managing its growth," said Malcolm Speed, the ICC's chief executive. "South Africa has been an early-adopter of Twenty20 cricket and will be an excellent first venue for the Twenty20 World Championship."

England, who invented the format, will stage it in 2009, and the next event will be in 2012.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Pool B: KZN-Inland v Free State at Pietermaritzburg - Oct 23-25
Free State 406/6d KZN-Inland 68 & 80/2 (f/o)
Pool B: Easterns v Boland at Benoni - Oct 23-25
Boland 156 Easterns 343/7
Cross Pool: Namibia v North West at Windhoek - Oct 23-25
Namibia 269 & 45/1 North West 373/9d
Pool A: S West D v W Province at Oudtshoorn - Oct 23-25
W Province 295/4d & 21/0 S West D 364/9d
Lions v Dolphins at Potchefstroom - Oct 24
Lions 214 Dolphins 64/0 (10/47 ov, target 217)
Titans v Cape Cobras at Centurion - Oct 24
Cape Cobras 208 Titans 99/2 (21.2/50 ov)
Warriors v Knights at East London - Oct 24
Knights 266/6 Warriors 58/1 (16.4/50 ov)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days