Durban, Johannesburg and Cape Town named November 21, 2006

Venues announced for Twenty20 World Championship

Cricinfo staff

The Wanderers at Johannesburg © Cricinfo Ltd

Durban, Johannesburg and Cape Town have been chosen as the three venues for the inaugural ICC Twenty20 World Championship in September 2007.

The event involves the main 10 international sides plus two associates, which will be decided at the World Cricket League in Kenya next January and February. Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, the Netherlands and Scotland are the other sides at the event in Nairobi.

"Durban, Cape Town and Johannesburg are no strangers to world-class cricket events," said Steve Elworthy, the tournament director, "having each been used with great success during the 2003 World Cup, and I have no doubt they will do us proud in the inaugural Twenty20 World Championships as well.

"Newlands is surely one of the most picturesque cricket grounds in the world, at the foot of Table Mountain. Kingsmead in Durban has always been a wonderful place to play and watch and when the stadium is full, it is electric," he said. "And anyone who has been to the Wanderers in Johannesburg on a big match day will agree that it is one of the great sporting venues of the world.

"This event is a huge opportunity to showcase South Africa and South African sport to the rest of the world. I have no doubt it will be an occasion to remember."