South Africa's annual cricket awards May 10, 2007

Pollock named South African Cricketer of the Year

Cricinfo staff

Pollock had a poor World Cup, but the award could spur him on for the forthcoming season © Getty Images
Shaun Pollock can afford to smile after an indifferent World Cup - he has been named the Cricketer of the Year at the fourth Cricket South Africa awards held in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Pollock beat Makhaya Ntini, Mark Boucher, Jacques Kallis, and Ashwell Prince to the award. Ntini, who won the honour last year, had to settle for the Fans' Cricketer of the Year. Kallis was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year. Kallis had an impressive World Cup, scoring 485 runs at an average of 80.83.

Prince was rewarded for some fine performances against India and Pakistan last year, winning the Test Cricketer of the Year award. Boucher was selected the South African Players' Player of the Year. Paul Harris, the 28-year old left-arm spinner, got the Newcomer of the Year award. Harris had an impressive Boxing Day debut against India in 2006, with first innings figures of 4 for 129, including the wicket of Sachin Tendulkar. He has so far played four Tests for South Africa, taking 11 wickets at 28.54 apiece.

On the domestic front, Morne van Wyk of the Diamond Eagles won three awards: Domestic Championships Cricketer of the Year, the Pro20 Cricketer of the Year and the Domestic Players' Player of the Year. Team-mate Ryan McLaren, currently with Kent, won the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year while Lonwabo Tsotsobe won the Domestic Newcomer of the Year.