Twenty20 World Championship, 2007-08, South Africa July 18, 2007

South Africa name provisional Twenty20 squad

Cricinfo staff

Boucher and Gibbs will be hoping to provide some fireworks in front of the home crowd © Getty Images

Hosts South Africa have named a 30-man provisional squad for the inaugural Twenty20 World Championship to be held in September. The squad will be trimmed down to 15 and sent to the ICC as per its regulations.

Graeme Smith returns as captain of the team after missing the trip to Ireland due to injury while Jacques Kallis, who stood in as captain during Smith's absence, will serve as his deputy.

There has been no surprise omissions with prolific hard-hitting batsmen such as Herschelle Gibbs, Mark Boucher, Johan van der Wath and Justin Kemp, who captained an Africa XI against Asia XI, being named in the squad. Gulam Bodi and Neil McKenzie are are selected on strength of domestic Pro20 matches.

According to Steve Elworthy, tournament director, "the results and individual performances of the various players were taken into account by the selectors and they have put together a competitive, exciting squad that will add to the hype already created around the tournament.

"All 30 provisional squad members have contributed to their teams' results on the international and domestic fronts."

Squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Jacques Kallis, Hashim Amla, Loots Bosman, Gulam Bodi, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB De Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Paul Harris, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Neil McKenzie, Albie Morkel, Mornè Morkel, Andrè Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Justin Ontong, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Dale Steyn, Roger Telemachus, Alfonso Thomas, Thandi Tshabalala, Johan van der Wath, Mornè van Wyk