Board talks of 'hitch' regarding availability October 9, 2007

Klusener left out of Dolphins squad

Cricinfo staff

Lance Klusener: out of action for the Dolphins © Getty Images
Lance Klusener, the former South African allrounder, has been left out of the Dolphins squad set to play the Eagles in the season-opener at Kingsmead from Thursday.

Cassim Docrat, CEO of the KZN Cricket Union, said there was a "hitch" regarding Klusener's eligibility to play, the Natal-based Witness reported. This comes in the wake of Cricket South Africa's decision to ban players involved with the Indian Cricket League (ICL). Cricket South Africa's chief executive officer Gerald Majola had said anyone who joined the ICL would not be allowed to play in matches organised by the board.

Klusener, who signed for the ICL, an unofficial league that intends to stage Twenty20 games across India, had lashed out at the board's stand. Tony Irish, the CEO of the SA Cricketers' Association, has taken up the matter with the board on Klusener's behalf.

Another star Dolphins cricketer, Dale Benkenstein, will also miss the four-day match. Docrat said Benkenstein is still in England but will be available for the second round of the competition.

Meanwhile, the Inland selectors have named the squad from which the XI will be chosen for the opening SA Airways Challenge round against Boland at the Maritzburg Oval from Thursday. The Durban-based KZN Coastal side was also selected for their match in East London.


KZN Dolphins Imraan Khan, Doug Watson, Wayne Madsen, Ahmed Amla (capt), Jon Kent, Daryn Smit, Johann Louw, Morné van Vuuren, Yusuf Abdullah, Quinton Friend, Saidi Mhlongo, Mafinki Serame. Coach: Yashin Ebrahim.

KZN Inland André van Vuuren (capt), Ross McMillan, Clint Bowyer, Brad Moses, Lyndon Brown, Kivershan Padayachee, Michael Matika, Sashen Dorasamy, Garry Hampson, Murray Hampson, Lennox Lwana, Qasim Khurshid, Olly Humphries, Mbasa Gqadushe, Glen Addicott. Coach: Robbie Coutts.

KZN Coastal Rivash Gobind (capt), Kyle Smit, Fabian Lazarus, Martin Bekker, Calvin Flowers, Cedric Mabuya, Chad Hauptfleisch, Viyaash Gobind, Andrew Tweedie, Dan Horsfall, Tyron Pillay, Keegan Africa. Coach: Sakele Simon.