Kenya and Bangladesh in SA 2008-09 October 7, 2008

South Africa call up McLaren and Kleinveldt

Cricinfo staff

Johan Botha is likely to lead South Africa for the first time in an ODI later this month © Getty Images

Ryan McLaren and Rory Kleinveldt are in line for international debuts while Johan Botha has been named as standby captain for the injured Graeme Smith in South Africa's squads for two upcoming home series, against Kenya and Bangladesh. Makhaya Ntini has been dropped from the ODI team, while Andre Nel doesn't find a place in any of the squads named by the selectors.

McLaren, the Eagles allrounder who is a Kolpak player with Kent, has been named for the ODIs against Kenya and Bangladesh. However, Cricket South Africa said McLaren's selection depended on his being released by Kent, where he remains on contract. He has also been picked for the Twenty20 international against Bangladesh in Johannesburg on November 5, along with Kleinveldt, the Cape Cobras allrounder.

With Graeme Smith suffering from tennis elbow, Botha - an offspinner with 32 ODI caps - is expected to lead the side for the two games against Kenya on October 31 and November 2 and has been named vice-captain of the 14-man squad.

"Johan is to be congratulated on his promotion," acting selection convener Gerald Majola said. "He will, in all probability, captain the side in the two matches against Kenya as we expect Graeme Smith to recover from injury in time only for the ODI series against Bangladesh."

A 13-man squad was also named for the two Tests against Bangladesh in late November and there was no place for Nel, who was part of the attack in England this year. Monde Zondeki was named in the group along with JP Duminy, who is yet to make his Test debut.

Test squad (for two Tests against Bangladesh) Graeme Smith (capt), Neil McKenzie, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher (wk), Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn, Monde Zondeki.

ODI squad (for two ODIs against Kenya and three against Bangladesh) Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Ryan McLaren, Mark Boucher (wk), Justin Ontong, Johan Botha, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Monde Zondeki.

Twenty20 squad (for one-off match against Bangladesh) Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Loots Bosman, JP Duminy, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Justin Ontong, Johan Botha, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn.