South Africa domestic news September 11, 2009

van der Wath and McLaren to miss season opener

Cricinfo staff

Allrounders Johan van der Wath and Ryan McLaren will miss Eagles' SuperSport Series opener against Cape Cobras in Bloemfontein starting September 17, due to their county commitments. Two other seamers - Jandré Coetzee and Cornelius de Villiers were also omitted from the 13-man squad due to injuries.

Coetzee is nursing a groin strain while de Villiers is down with a back injury. The regular captain, Boeta Dippenaar, will also miss the game due to his commitments with Leicestershire. However, the captain for this clash has not been named.

van der Wath, currently with Northamptonshire, will be making a comeback to the South African domestic fold after a two-year gap due to his links with the unauthorised Indian Cricket League.

The squad has two spin bowlers in Con de Lange and Thandi Tshabalala.

Squad: Divan van Wyk, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Adrian McLaren, Ryan Bailey, Morné van Wyk, Con de Lange, Obus Pienaar, Dillon du Preez, Thandi Tshabalala, Victor Mpitsang, Charl Pietersen.