South Africa news October 23, 2009

Ryan McLaren and Heino Kuhn earn call-ups

Cricinfo staff

South Africa have named two uncapped players in allrounder Ryan McLaren and wicketkeeper Heino Kuhn in the different limited-overs squads against Zimbabwe and England at home starting next month. The most significant exclusions in the one-day team following South Africa's failed campaign in the ICC Champions Trophy include Herschelle Gibbs and Makhaya Ntini. Allrounder Robin Peterson was also dropped, in order to make way for McLaren, who impressed in the Champions League Twenty20 for Eagles. Alviro Petersen, the right-handed opening batsman who has played five ODIs for South Africa, earns a recall to the ODI squad. He has earned his place following an impressive stint with the A side.

The one-day squad covers the two matches against Zimbabwe and the first three against England. McLaren has been included in both the ODI and Twenty20 squads while Kuhn has been named in the Twenty20 team alone, which will take on England in two games.

"It is never easy to leave out senior players, particularly when they are men of the calibre of Herschelle Gibbs and Makhaya Ntini who have given such wonderful service over a long period of time," said Mike Procter, the convener of selectors. "But we also have to keep looking forward and reward those players who are knocking strongly on the door.

"Although we have chosen these squads for the Zimbabwe series as well as the first three matches against England, we are flexible and reserve the right to add other players as we think fit. The aim is for all 15 players to get a run in the two Pro20 matches against England."

A notable inclusion in the Twenty20 squad is the attacking opener Loots Bosman, who last played for South Africa a year ago.

McLaren, 26, gave up his Kolpak status, thus making himself available for national selection. He was called up for South Africa's ODI squad to face Kenya and Bangladesh in October 2008 but Kent refused to release him. A right-arm seamer and useful lower-order hitter, McLaren recently starred for the Eagles in a tie against Sussex in the Champions League, which was decided by a one-over eliminator.

Kuhn, 25, plays for Titans in the domestic circuit. He was part of the Board President's XI team which took on the touring Australians earlier this year, where he fell short of a century by one run.

Cricket South Africa has also announced the South Africa A squads for the warm-up 50-over and Twenty20 matches against England. They feature some of the stand-out performers from the Champions League like CJ de Villiers, Rilee Rossouw, Henry Davids and Rory Kleinveldt.

South Africa begin their home season with the two ODIs against Zimbabwe, at Benoni and Centurion on November 8 and 10 respectively.

South Africa ODI squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Charl Langeveldt, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe

Twenty20 squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Yusuf Abdulla, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Heino Kuhn (wk), Charl Langeveldt, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe

South Africa A 50-overs squad: Hashim Amla (capt), Henry Davids, CJ de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn (wk), Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Rilee Rossouw, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Vaughn van Jaarsveld

South Africa A 20-overs squad: Justin Ontong (capt), Yusuf Abdulla, Loots Bosman, Henry Davids, CJ de Villiers, Rory Kleinveldt, Heino Kuhn (wk), Morne Morkel, Rilee Rossouw, Rusty Theron, Thandi Tshabalala, Vaughn van Jaarsveld