South Africa news December 17, 2009

Joshua Richards to captain SA Under-19 World Cup squad

Cricinfo staff

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a 15-member Under-19 squad for the triangular series against India and Sri Lanka, as well as the ICC U-19 World Cup to be held in New Zealand in January 2010.

Northern's wicketkeeper batsman, Joshua Richards will captain the squad, which also includes run-machine, Colin Ackerman. Richards previously led the SA U-19 Invitational XI against England U-19 in January and is solid behind the stumps. Ackerman was the leading run-scorer in the CSA U-19 three-day competition, where he averaged 200 with two centuries.

Announcing the team in Benoni, the U-19 convener of selectors Shafiek Abrahams expressed confidence in the selected squad. "I am very excited with the squad that we have selected and I am confident that they will do the country proud," he said.

South Africa U-19 Sqaud: Joshua Richards (Northerns, Captain), Samuel Mofokeng (Northerns), David White (EP), Colin Ackerman (EP), Matthew Kennedy, (EP), Simon Khomari (FS), Stephan Smit (FS), Bokang Mosena (FS), Dale Deeb (Gauteng), Graham Hume (Gauteng), Malcolm Nofal (Gauteng), Dominic Hendricks (Gauteng), Cody Chetty (KwaZulu-Natal), Rabian Engelbrecht (Boland), Jerry Ngolo (Border).