South Africa A tour of Australia 2014 June 20, 2014

Rabada, Kleinveldt in SA A squad for Australia tour

ESPNcricinfo staff

Nineteen-year-old pacer Kagiso Rabada has been picked in the South Africa A squad for a tour of Australia in July. South Africa A are scheduled to play two four-day games against Australia, after a quadrangular series which also features India A and Cricket Australia's National Performance Squad.

The four-day and limited-overs squads, which will be captained by Justin Ontong, also include fast bowler Rory Kleinveldt, as he looks to return to cricket following a knee injury sustained in April. Kleinveldt played his last international game in July 2013 but has been part of international squads since then. Farhaan Behardien has been named in the one-day squad.

Rabada was one of the key performers in South Africa's Under-19 World Cup triumph in February with 14 wickets from five matches. He was one of the fastest bowlers in the competition, hurling in deliveries at an average of 85 mph.

While he received ample praise for his three-wicket haul in a group game against West Indies, he turned in his best performance in the semi-final against Australia. His 6 for 26 - the best figures in the Under-19 World Cup - fired South Africa to an 80-run victory.

Rabada was one of seven players to be given their maiden call-ups to the A team. Batsmen David White, Khaya Zondo and Cody Chetty, wicketkeeper Mangaliso Mosehle, left-arm pacer Mthokozisi Shezi and legspinner Eddie Leie are the other selected newcomers.

Rabada and Mosehle have been named in both squads, while Shezi and Chetty have been picked only for the one-dayers. White, Zondo and Leie have been selected for the four-day squad.

"It was only a year ago that the South Africa A squad included the likes of Beuran Hendricks and Dane Piedt who have gone on to earn senior national colours, so the opportunity and incentive is there for others to follow suit," Andrew Hudson, South Africa's convener of selectors, said. "The squad for Australia has a nice balance of experience and youthful potential about it and this will be an excellent test for them against Australia A and India A, both of whom have assembled very strong squads."

The quadrangular series starts on July 20 and will be followed by the two four-day matches which will be held in Townsville between August 7 and 17.

South Africa A four-day squad: Justin Ontong (capt), Temba Bavuma, Marchant de Lange, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Heino Kuhn, Eddie Leie, Mangaliso Mosehle, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Hardus Viljoen, David White, Khaya Zondo.

South Africa A one-day squad: Justin Ontong (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Cody Chetty, Marchant de Lange, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Heino Kuhn, Mangaliso Mosehle, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Vaughn van Jaarsveld

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Andre on June 23, 2014, 12:33 GMT

    I am one of Kagiso's biggest fans and I'm itching to see him join Dale, Morne and Vern in the national team. Unfortunately another of my favourite players, Aiden Markram might have to play a season or 2 of FC cricket before we can see him play for the Proteas. I see him him as succeeding Amla as our next test captain. Well done to the boys who made it into the A team.

  • Dummy4 on June 22, 2014, 9:51 GMT

    axe_hay Pieter Malan averaged around 30 in the amateur division this year to mention him as a potential proteas is a joke. David Wiese like Ontong,Kleinveldt etc has been tried at international level and failed so your logic is a bit flawed I do agree though that Vallie and Van Wyk are a bit unlucky

  • Blessing on June 21, 2014, 12:44 GMT

    Well done young man, Rabada that is. Don't know how and why, Farhaan, Rory and Mosehle are part of the touring party, makes no sense at all. @axe_hay agree with you on a couple of players there in your list

  • Gareth on June 20, 2014, 19:22 GMT

    Great news! Rabada is the "next big thing" (TM).

  • Akshay on June 20, 2014, 18:46 GMT

    Looks like the quota system has been already implemented. Justin Ontong, Rory Klienveldt,Farhaan Behardien and Aaron Phangiso have been tried and tested at the international level and have failed. Why are they still in the squad ? Where are talented players like Pieter Malan , David Wiese, Shaun Von Berg , Brett Pelser, Dane Vilas,Divan Van Wyk ,Yaseen Vallie ,Dane Paterson and Corne Dry ? These blokes should be in the A squads !

  • No featured comments at the moment.