Another missing frame and Hussey strikes again
Tharanga Paranavitana became the latest batsman in the series to perhaps be saved by a missing camera frame when Mitchell Johnson and Brad Haddin appealed for a caught behind in the early afternoon. A short ball down the leg side had grazed something, probably glove, on its way through to the wicketkeeper, and the Australia players reviewed Tony Hill's initial not-out verdict. The replays established the ball had been near the glove, even hinting at a deflection from the glove, but the cameras lacked the requisite speed to put the matter beyond all doubt, and Paranavitana survived. Also curious was the lack of a replay from behind Paranavitana and Haddin, the angle pointed out by the umpire Simon Taufel as the best from which to determine a leg-side catch.
The man with the golden arm
Later in the afternoon, as Australia grew more desperate for a wicket, Michael Hussey was thrown the ball once again. In keeping with the script of this match, in which Hussey has made a telling contribution on each day, he removed Paranvitana, his second wicket for the match, before conceding a run. The circumstances did not seem inconsistent with those of the earlier reprieve, for once again the television evidence to overturn Tony Hill's original decision seemed less than unequivocal. Paranavitana pushed forward at a ball angled across him and the ball was pouched on the second attempt by Haddin, who appealed with even more fervour than usual. He made the "T" sign twice to his captain Michael Clarke before the referral was called for. Replays showed the ball in exceptionally close proximity to the bat, and a noise could be heard, though it was far from ringing. Eventually Hill and third umpire Shavir Tarapore chose to send Paranavitana on his way, vindicating Haddin's excitement.
The big shot
When Shahid Afridi first played Test cricket against Australia in Pakistan in 1998, he was dubbed "Mr Big Shot" by Mark Taylor's slips cordon after a wild slash yielded his wicket. Though a much more impressive Test batsman, Tillakaratne Dilshan could have earned the same moniker when he handed Ryan Harris his wicket moments before lunch on the fourth day. Dilshan is adamant that he will play his way as Test captain of Sri Lanka, but he has lurched from misjudgement to misjudgement on this tour, overcooking a drive in the first innings in Galle, then heaving at Harris here after offering no stroke to Trent Copeland on the first morning. The shame was that up to the point when he was taken by Shane Watson at first slip, Dilshan had shown hints of the batting quality that helped him hammer 193 against England at Lord's in his first series as leader.
Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo