Star studded MCA double wicket tournament this weekend

Rex Clementine

September 26, 2001

Text size: A | A

The Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA) will conduct a double wicket competition this weekend at BRC Grounds in Colombo. Sixteen leading business institutions and the Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka (BCCSL) have submitted teams.

The tournament will include a number of international stars. Chaminda Vaas and Mahela Jayawardene play for Seylan Bank. Russel Arnold and Kumar Dharmasena play for Hatton National Bank and Test discard Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kaushalya Weeraratne will be representing the BCCSL.

The tournament has been revived after 20 years and will be sponsored by Access International Pvt. Ltd.

The regulation stipulate that each side will have eight overs per innings and each player has to bowl four overs. There will be no declarations because each time they are dismissed ten points will be deducted from their score.

D. S. Senanayake College First XI will be performing the fielding duties.

RSS Feeds: Rex Clementine

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Rex ClementineClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd ODI: Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Dambulla - Aug 30
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets (with 178 balls remaining) (D/L method)
1st Match, Qualifying Group: Northern D v Express at Raipur
Sep 13, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
4th Match, Qualifying Group: Mum Indians v Express at Raipur
Sep 14, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
5th Match, Qualifying Group: Express v Lahore Lions at Raipur
Sep 16, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
1st ODI: S Lanka U19 v Aust U19 at Colombo (SSC)
Sep 25, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days