Sri Lankan news

De Silva to head new SLC interim board

Sa'adi Thawfeeq

March 12, 2009

Text size: A | A

Top Curve
The SLC interim committee
  • Somachandra De Silva (chairman), Nishantha Ranatunga (secretary), Sujeewa Rajapakse (treasurer), Lalith Wickremasinghe (member), Pramodya Wickramasinghe (member), Ranil Abeynayake (member) A Gunaratne Weerasinghe (member).
Bottom Curve

Former Sri Lanka legspinner Somachandra De Silva was appointed chairman of the new seven-member interim committee to run Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) by sports minister Gamini Lokuge on Thursday. De Silva, 66, who held the post of schools cricket development officer at SLC was also the cricket advisor to the country's president, Mahindra Rajapakse.

De Silva, who played 12 Tests and 41 ODIs and coached the junior national team, succeeds former Sri Lanka captain Arjuna Ranatunga at the position, after Ranatunga was sacked by Lokuge in December last year. The interim committee was also dissolved, marking the end of a controversial 11-month tenure for Ranatunga in the hot seat.

Ranatunga was replaced by Lokuge's private secretary, S Liyanagama, who was appointed as the competent authority to administer Sri Lanka Cricket until a suitable person was found.

However, Nishantha Ranatunga, Arjuna's brother, has been appointed as the secretary of the committee. Former fast bowler and present chairman of the Sri Lanka Cricketer's Association Pramodya Wickramasinghe, cricketer-turned-commentator Ranil Abeynayake, along with Lalith Wickremasinghe and A Gunaratne Weerasinghe will be the panel members.

Treasurer Sujeewa Rajapakse is the only person to retain his post from the committee which was previously dissolved.

RSS Feeds: Sa'adi Thawfeeq

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Sa'adi ThawfeeqClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd unofficial Test: Sri Lanka A v W. Indies A at Moratuwa
Oct 25-28, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
India A v Sri Lankans at Mumbai (BS)
Oct 30, 2014 (09:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 23:30 EDT | 22:30 CDT | 20:30 PDT)
1st unofficial ODI: Sri Lanka A v W. Indies A at Dambulla
Nov 1, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days