Triangular series in Sri Lanka, 2009 June 26, 2009

India, NZ and SL to contest in triangular

Sri Lanka, India and New Zealand will play a triangular series in Sri Lanka during September, ahead of the Champions Trophy.

The BCCI confirmed that India will take part in the tournament, which will consist a total of four matches. Each team will play each other once, and the top two teams will advance to the final.

According to the SLC, the tournament is the result of discussions with Indian and New Zealand officials during the ICC meeting at Lord's this week. "We came to an agreement in discussions we had with the Indian board president Shashank Manohar and secretary N Srinivasan and New Zealand Cricket CEO Justin Vaughan," said Ranatunga on his arrival from London on Friday. "Sri Lanka Cricket would like to express its appreciation to the officials of BCCI for agreeing on an unscheduled tour, which would add an additional commercial benefit to the stakeholders of SLC; moreover a viewing pleasure to the cricket loving public in Sri Lanka."

Ranatunga said that as this was an unscheduled tournament, SLC may open tenders for television and broadcasting rights. He also said that Wayamba, domestic Twenty20 champions, would participate in the Champions League in India from October 8-23 at the invitation of the Indian board.