Vinay leads Karnataka's rout of Maharashtra

R Vinay Kumar scored a half-century in addition to his five-wicket haul PTI

Maharashtra's hopes of securing a quarter-final berth came crashing down as they were handed a thrashing by 10 wickets by Karnataka in Mohali. After taking a 182-run lead, largely swelled due to some lower order fight by R Vinay Kumar, who was unbeaten on 56, Karnataka bowled Maharashtra out for 218; a counter-attacking approach that resulted in batsmen looking for runs resulted in their downfall. Then R Samarth and Kaunain Abbas achieved their 37-run target without much fuss to secure a bonus point. This was Karnataka's fifth win this season.

David Mathias, originally not picked in the XI but drafted in late as a replacement for Manish Pandey, did his credentials no harm, picking three crucial wickets including that of Kedar Jadhav , who top scored with 85. Abhimanyu Mithun, who bowled just two deliveries in the first innings before hobbling off the field, returned from a niggle to take 2 for 44. Karnataka will await the Jharkhand-Odisha contest on December 15 to find out if they're the group toppers.

Delhi needed 167 more to keep their qualification hopes alive, but they'd lost four wickets in pursuit of 276 against Saurashtra in Vadodara. Rishabh Pant, their highest run-getter this season and Milind Kumar will resume on the final day. The pair batted out 13 overs after Shaurya Sanandia picked up three early wickets to finish the day on 109 for 4.

That Delhi found themselves staring at defeat despite having Saurashtra on the ropes at the start - they were effectively 36 for 5 - was due to some lower order mettle from Arpit Vasavada (89) and Jaydev Unadkat (80). The seventh-wicket pair took Saurashtra from 261 for 7 to 396, before Pradeep Sangwan broke through. Saurashtra's trail didn't last long as they were soon bowled out for 420.

Delhi started briskly but lost Shikhar Dhawan (16) and Gautam Gambhir (34) quickly. Then they lost two more wickets, that of Unmukt Chand and Nitish Rana in the space of three deliveries to wobble. A loss for Delhi here would Odisha join Karnataka and Jharkhand as the three qualifiers from the group.

Lalit Yadav's six-wicket haul orchestrated a sensational Rajasthan collapse as Vidarbha were left chasing 188 to secure a consolation win and end the season on a high in Greater Noida. Rajasthan, who took a first-innings lead of 24, slipped from 119 for 3 to 163 all out, with opener Amitkumar Gautam's 51 being the highest of the innings.