Ronchi, Guptill return from injury for South Africa series

Martin Guptill injured his hamstring during the home T20Is against Bangladesh, and then injured it again in the first Chappell-Hadlee ODI Getty Images

Wicketkeeper Luke Ronchi has returned to New Zealand's ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming series against South Africa after recovering from a groin injury. New Zealand named 14-man squads for the one-off T20I in Auckland on February 17 and the first two ODIs in Hamilton and Christchurch on February 19 and 22.

Legspinner Ish Sodhi retained his place in the ODI squad, after having been included in the group for the final game of the Chappell-Hadlee Series, while opener Martin Guptill, who missed the last two games against Australia with a hamstring injury, was also named in both squads.

Batsman Colin Munro was dropped from the ODI squad after making 3 and 2 in the Chappell-Hadlee Series against Australia.

"Colin hasn't quite shown the consistency he would like in the middle order and we feel Jimmy [Neesham] is deserved of an opportunity with the bat at six," New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said. "Having two frontline spinners in the side gives us flexibility and Ish is an aggressive bowler who in the right conditions can be a real threat for us.

"It will be great to have Luke back in the mix. He's the number one white-ball wicketkeeper in the country and brings considerable experience to the group." Ronchi's return meant there was no place for reserve wicketkeeper Tom Blundell.

Fast bowler Adam Milne was picked in a New Zealand XI to play a practice game against the South Africans on February 14. It will be Milne's first competitive game since his one-match appearance for Royal Challengers Bangalore in April 2016. Milne has been on the sidelines since then because of a hamstring tear and then an elbow injury.

T20I squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler
In: Tim Southee. Out: Tom Blundell, Matt Henry, George Worker, Neil Broom

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor
In: Luke Ronchi. Out: Tom Blundell, Colin Munro

New Zealand XI squad: Glenn Phillips, Neil Broom, Henry Nicholls, Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Todd Astle, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Henry Shipley, Zak Gibson