Thisara, Jayasuriya earn T20 call-ups

Fernando: Selectors seem to want Kusal to focus on ODIs, Tests (1:03)

Andrew Fernando on Sri Lanka's squad for the T20s against Bangladesh (1:03)

Kusal Mendis has been omitted from Sri Lanka's T20I squad for the two-match series against Bangladesh, while spin-bowling allrounder Shehan Jayasuriya has been called up. Also in the squad is Thisara Perera - who had not been in Sri Lanka's recent T20I squad to Australia - and opener Danushka Gunathilaka, who returns to the T20 XI after recovering from injury.

Kusal Perera has also been named, but his participation is subject to recovery from a thigh strain that ruled him out of the ODIs. If he fails the fitness test, Sandun Weerakkody - the batsman who made his debut in South Africa - will take his place. Upul Tharanga leads the side in Angelo Mathews' continued absence.

T20s have been Mendis' least successful format - he averages 9.25 with a strike rate of 123 in eight T20 international innings. Chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya said he may not be picked in T20s in the near future, so that he can concentrate on the longer formats, in which he has begun to excel. Mendis was the player of the series in the recently-concluded ODI series against Bangladesh. He was also the player of the tournament during the tri-series in Zimbabwe last year, and has played at least two match-winning Test innings over the past year.

"Kusal Mendis has got a long career ahead of him and we do not want to burden him with too many things," Jayasuriya said. "He had a very good Test and ODI series against Bangladesh and at this stage we don't want him to alter too many things in his game."

Thisara's reinclusion is thanks largely to his good performances with the bat in the recent ODIs, in which he struck two half-centuries in three matches. Jayasuriya meanwhile, has been playing for Sri Lanka's Emerging Team in the ACC competition currently being played in Bangladesh.

The first of two T20s - both to be played at R Premadasa Stadium - is scheduled for April 4.

Sri Lanka squad: Upul Tharanga (capt.), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera (subject to fitness), Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka, Vikum Sanjaya, Milinda Siriwardana, Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Chamara Kapugedara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya.

On standby: Sandun Weerakkody