<
>

Mount Masakadza explodes

Hamilton Masakadza was not pleased to be given out caught behind AFP

The rage

Umpire Anisur Rahman gave Hamilton Masakadza out caught down the leg-side off Mashrafe Mortaza. The batsman though did not want to budge from his crease, and replays showed he had not hit the ball. The Bangladesh players converged to celebrate behind Masakadza and as he slowly walked away, Mahmudullah and Tamim Iqbal appeared to tell something to the aggrieved batsman. Masakadza reacted with anger, throwing his fist in the air and shoving the Zimbabwe 12th man away as he had tried to calm Masakadza.

The run-out repetition

As soon as Anamul Haque worked the ball on the on-side, his opening partner Tamim was alive to the prospect of some runs. The pair ran the first one quickly, but Anamul hesitated to take the second. Tamim ran through though, putting pressure on Anamul to look for a second. Tamim was close to making his ground at the striker's end when his bat jammed into the turf while he was trying to slide it to safety. As it happened, his feet were in the air when Masakadza broke the stumps to complete Tamim's second run-out in consecutive matches.

The successful long-hop

Zimbabwe's spinners were getting away with a lot of long-hops and full-tosses, but legspinner Tafadzwa Kamungozi stretched his luck even further. He bowled one at Anamul, batting on 95, at the start of the second Powerplay, and watched it sail right down Shingi Masakadza at deep midwicket.

The slam dunk

Masakadza went down on one knee and swept Mortaza over the fine-leg boundary. It was a shot that had all the skill of a basketball player preparing to pull off a slam dunk. He crouched low but instead of propelling into the air himself, he sent the ball soaring over square leg to record the first six of the Zimbabwe innings.

The d j vu

Mushfiqur Rahim has been blowing hot and cold behind the stumps this year. He has taken some blinders but has also missed several chances. By those standards, the difficult stumping opportunity against Brendan Taylor off Arafat Sunny's over looked regulation, as the ball spun away from him at the last moment. Mushfiqur missed it but compensated a few overs later with the stumping of Solomon Mire. Sunny missed out on the big wicket but, given the inconsistency behind the stumps, he'll be happy with what he got.