Ireland hungry for fourth straight win

Kyle McCallan in action Charles McQuillan / © pacemakerpressintl.com

Kyle McCallan, the Ireland offspinner, expects a battle when the defending champions take on Scotland in the ICC Intercontinental Cup at Mannofield in Aberdeen on Monday.

McCallan said it was Ireland's three-run victory against Scotland in Aberdeen in 2005 that sparked off their successful run in the ICC Intercontinental Cup, which they have won on the previous three occasions. "It's funny but despite winning the trophy three times, we probably want it even more this time," McCallan said. "We've got a real desire to show the world we're the best Associate team at all levels, and winning this is one of the best ways to do it. We've some fantastic memories over the past few years.

"Our games with Scotland over the years have always been battles, and I expect the game in Aberdeen to be no different," McCallan said. "They seem to be in something of a transition period but they got a great result last month against Canada and we would never take them lightly."

McCallan was preparing to lead against Scotland until Gloucestershire released William Porterfield, the regular Ireland captain, at the last minute from his county duties. Porterfield's availability strengthens a squad which already included Trent Johnston, Jeremy Bray, Andrew White and young talent such as Shane Getkate and Paul Stirling.

Scotland will be confident going into the match against Ireland, having begun their campaign by beating Canada outright at the same venue. They made four changes to that successful squad though. Lockhart replaced the injured Simon Smith as the wicketkeeper-batsman. Gordon Goudie returned from shoulder injury and replaced Calum MacLeod, while left-arm spinner Ross Lyons was selected ahead of legspinner Moneeb Iqbal. Stewart Chalmers received his first four-day call-up because of the injury to allrounder Jan Stander.

Scotland: Gordon Drummond (capt), Fraser Watts, Dougie Lockhart, Qasim Sheikh, Ryan Watson, Euan Chalmers, Neil McCallum, Richie Berrington, Stewart Chalmers, Majid Haq, Ross Lyons, Gordon Goudie, Mathew Parker, Ally Evans.

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Andre Botha, Jeremy Bray, Andrew Britton, Alex Cusack, Shane Getkate, Trent Johnston, Kyle McCallan, Kevin O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Paul Stirling, Regan West, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.