Sri Lanka Cricket elections set for May 19

Sri Lanka Cricket president Thilanga Sumathipala addresses the media at a press conference Getty Images

Sri Lanka Cricket's elections will be held at the board's Annual General Meeting on 19th May, SLC has announced, with the deadline for nominations set for April 27. Incumbent President Thilanga Sumathipala confirmed that he would run for another two-year term following recent changes to Sri Lanka's Sports Law.

"The Minister of Sports recently changed the Sports Law so that you can hold office for four years," explained SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala. "We strongly believe that elections should be held once in two years, and the Sports Law says you can get reelected after two years."

Sumathipala also revealed that changes could be expected to the make up of his team, with certain members opting out due to other engagements such as present SLC Secretary Air Commodore Roshan Biyanwala. The core of his team however is expected to remain the same with the likes of Vice Presidents, K. Mathivanan and Mohan De Silva, and Treasurer Shammi Silva likely to contest.

Despite having been ousted several times on legal grounds Sumathipala is yet lose an SLC election, as such he is favoured to win reelection, though his opponents are yet to be announced.

Following the elections there will also need to be a decision taken on SLC's selection committee, whose term is due to end on May 15. That decision though will need to be approved by Sri Lanka's Sports Minister, the identity of whom will only be known following a soon to take place Cabinet reshuffle.