Hamidullah Qadri, Ben Charlesworth in England Young Lions squad

Hamidullah Qadri portrait DerbyshireCCC

England have named Derbyshire's Afghanistan-born spinner Hamidullah Qadri in their 18-man Young Lions squad for winter training camps in the UK and India.

Qadri, 17, last year became the first county player to have been born in the 21st century, taking 5 for 60 on debut for Derbyshire against Glamorgan, and went on to make his first appearances for England U-19s.

The squad, led by Young Lions coach Jon Lewis, also includes allrounder Ben Charlesworth, who finished the season by making a strong impression in Gloucestershire's first team.

The players will take part in a 20-day camp in Bangalore as part of their preparations for a tour of Bangladesh early next year, encompassing all three formats. A 15-man squad will be named for Bangladesh nearer the time.

"It's a high potential group of players and I am excited by the prospect of them working with this set of staff and the challenging conditions that India will present," Lewis said. "I think it's one of the best parts of the job, being able to provide an experience that adds value on top of what the players normally receive at their counties.

"It's been hugely enjoyable this year to see Harry Brook, Will Jacks, Dillon Pennington and Ethan Bamber progress from representing us in last year's World Cup to impressing in their county 1st XI.

"I know from having chatted to them that they felt their time with the Young Lions improved them as players and that's an example of the value our pathway can add to young players.

"I reminded this squad that it wasn't that long ago at all that Sam Curran and Ollie Pope were sat in the same seats as them. They both showed the characteristics of players who wanted to become international cricketers and their speed of ascent since has been testament to their hard work. I'm looking forward to developing this group so that they can start their own journey on that path."

England Young Lions squad: Kasey Aldridge (Somerset), George Balderson (Lancashire), Ben Charlesworth (Gloucestershire), Jordan Cox (Kent), Tom Davis (Kent), Adam Finch (Worcestershire), Lewis Goldsworthy (Somerset), Jack Haynes (Worcestershire), George Hill (Yorkshire), Luke Hollman (Middlesex), Nick Kimber (Nottinghamshire), Tom Lammonby (Somerset), Dominic Leech (Yorkshire), Jack Morley (Lancashire), Dan Mousley (Warwickshire), Hamidullah Qadri (Derbyshire), Will Smeed (Somerset), Jamie Smith (Surrey)