Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2013-14, East Zone

Pritam Das bowls Assam to first win

ESPNcricinfo staff

April 2, 2014

Text size: A | A

East Zone

Pritam Das took a four-wicket haul to help Assam defend 137 against Odisha at Jadhavpur University Complex. The right-arm seamer took 4 for 19 to send Odisha crashing to 102. Assam were driven by a third-wicket stand of 50 between Dheeraj Jadhav and Sibsankar Roy, who top-scored with 47 off 29 balls. Deepak Behera got rid of the pair to finish with 2 for 24. In reply, Odisha were off to a poor start, losing two wickets in the second over to Arup Das. The openers Paresh Patel top-scored with 38 but the rest failed to show any resistance as Pritam Das chipped away. After Patel was dismissed in the 16th over with the score on 96 for 7, the innings came to a swift end and Assam recorded their first win.

At Eden Gardens, Jharkhand squeezed in a 11-run win over Tripura. Tripura's chase of 139 hinged on their captain Yogesh Takawale who scored a fifty but their task became improbable in the final over when they lost Takawale for 58, still needing 20 from the last four balls. Jharkhand opted to bat first but lost early wickets. Ishank Jaggi's departure for 36 left them at 47 for 3 and it was their middle order that chipped in to raise the score to 138. Manisankar Murasingh and Tushar Saha were economical and took two wickets each. Tripura were jolted early in their chase by Jaskaran Singh, who took two wickets. Tripura had lost half their side for 72 in the 15th over and the pressure increased on Takawale. Jaskaran got rid of him to finish with 3 for 27 as Jharkhand registered their first win.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
Baroda v U. Pradesh at Mumbai - Apr 14, 2014
Baroda won by 3 runs
Goa v Gujarat at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
Goa won by 4 wickets (with 30 balls remaining)
Baroda v Kerala at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Kerala won by 22 runs
Delhi v Rajasthan at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Delhi won by 7 runs
Haryana v U. Pradesh at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
U. Pradesh won by 6 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days