Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2013-14

Saha, Tiwary fifties steer Bengal to win

ESPNcricinfo staff

April 3, 2014

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Fifties from Wriddhiman Saha and Manoj Tiwary helped Bengal cruise to an eight-wicket win over Jharkhand at Eden Gardens.

Saha and Tiwary added 97 in nearly 11 overs to guide their side's chase of 153 in 18.1 overs. While Saha was dismissed for 54 off 37, Tiwary finished unbeaten on 67 off 52 with six fours and six.

Earlier, Jharkhand failed to take advantage of a strong start by their openers, Ishank Jaggi and Ishan Kishan, who added 46 for the first wicket. Shahbaz Nadeem, promoted to No. 3, managed 7 off 12 and the side suffered further setbacks when captain Saurabh Tiwary and Kumar Deobrat were dismissed within three overs. A whirlwind 25-run, tenth-wicket partnership between Rahul Shukla and Jaskaran Singh, which came off the last two overs, lifted the side to 152 for 9.

Fast bowler Abu Nechim's 4 for 21 helped Assam edge past Tripura by 11 runs at Eden Gardens.

Chasing 153, Tripura were kept in check by Nechim who dismissed the side's openers and then took two wickets in the 14th over to leave the side at a wobbly 87 for 6. Nirupam Sen Chowdhary and Tushar Saha tried to revive the chase with brisk 20s but could only manage to reduce the margin of what looked likely to be a huge loss.

Assam's innings, after they opted to bat, was book-ended by two collapses. In between, though, a 79-run partnership Sibsankar Roy and Pritam Debnath lifted the side from 57 for 4 to 136 for 4, setting the base for a strong total. Roy scored his maiden T20 fifty, finishing with a 36-ball 53 that had eight fours. Assam squandered the opportunity, however, losing four of their last six wickets to run-outs to finish at 152.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by 10000000 on (April 3, 2014, 12:55 GMT)

Tiwary GO on and on....National Team waiting for u, Rock wt ever oppurtunity u got in any format.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
Baroda v U. Pradesh at Mumbai - Apr 14, 2014
Baroda won by 3 runs
Goa v Gujarat at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
Goa won by 4 wickets (with 30 balls remaining)
Baroda v Kerala at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Kerala won by 22 runs
Delhi v Rajasthan at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Delhi won by 7 runs
Haryana v U. Pradesh at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
U. Pradesh won by 6 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days