Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2013-14, South Zone

Goa maintain perfect record with last-ball six

ESPNcricinfo staff

April 5, 2014

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

Goa's Amit Yadav celebrates after hitting a six of the last ball to seal a thriller, Goa v Hyderabad, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Visakhapatnam, April 5, 2014
Amit Yadav exults after his last-ball six powered Goa to a two-wicket over Hyderabad © BCCI

Goa ended the South Zone leg of their campaign with a perfect record, beating Hyderabad by two wickets to register their fifth win in five games. They did so in spectacular fashion, with Amit Yadav hitting Pragyan Ojha for six when Goa needed five runs to win from one ball. It was Yadav's fifth six in a blistering 15-ball 38, and his second of the over, which had begun with Goa needing 14 to win.

Hyderabad batted first and made 149 for 7, with opener DB Ravi Teja scoring 48 and No. 6 Amol Shinde tonking 28 off 13 balls late in the innings. Goa's seamers took the bulk of the wickets, with Harshad Gadekar, Gauresh Gawas and Lakshay Garg picking up two each.

Goa opener Sagun Kamat scored his fourth half-century in five matches, and held their innings together at the start of their chase even as wickets fell around him. Goa, at one stage, were 56 for 6. Kamat fell for a 44-ball 56, after he had put on 34 with Gadekar. Goa, at that point, needed 51 runs from 28 balls, and Yadav walked in to provide the thrust they so desperately needed. When Gadekar was out for 30 in the last over of the innings, Goa needed six runs from two balls. In came Garg, who took the all-important single to bring Yadav on strike.

Kerala joined Goa in the all-India phase of the tournament, after beating Andhra by nine wickets. They did so in comprehensive enough manner - they won with 63 balls remaining - to gain a healthy boost to their net run-rate, but that proved unnecessary in the end, after Tamil Nadu lost to Karnataka.

Rajkot, Mumbai to host Super League

  • The ten teams that have qualified for the Super League stage will be split into two groups, with Rajkot hosting the Group A matches and Mumbai the Group B games. The final on April 14 will be staged in Mumbai.
  • Group A Haryana, Goa, Jharkhand, Gujarat, UP
  • Group B Delhi, Kerala, Bengal, Baroda, Rajasthan

Having chosen to bowl, Kerala rolled Andhra over for 69, with medium-pacer Basil Thampi - playing only his second Twenty20 match - and left-arm spinner Padmanabhan Prasanth picking up three wickets each. Andhra could have folded for even less were it not for D Shivkumar's 14-ball 20, the only two-digit score in their innings.

Kerala had no trouble in knocking down their target, with openers Vishnu Vinod and KJ Rakesh sending them on their way with a 63-run partnership. Rakesh was run out for 29, but Vinod remained at the crease till the end to finish unbeaten on 31.

A four-wicket haul from part-time legspinner Amit Verma sent Tamil Nadu hurtling to 87 all out and hurtling out of the tournament, as Karnataka ended their campaign with a consolation 35-run win that took them off the bottom of the South Zone table.

Sent in to bat, Karnataka scored 122 for 7, with six of their batsmen getting into double-figures but none of them getting past 22. Sunil Sam was Tamil Nadu's most successful bowler, with figures of 2 for 27, while fellow seamer Yo Mahesh and offspinner M Prabhu took a wicket apiece.

Tamil Nadu were four down at the end of their powerplay overs, before B Indrajith and Vijay Shankar staged a mini-recovery with a brisk 22-run fifth-wicket stand. Then, Verma got to work. Starting with his dismissal of Indrajith, Tamil Nadu lost five wickets - three to Verma, two to run-outs - for the addition of just seven runs in the space of 10 balls. Tamil Nadu's tenth-wicket pair then added 17, before Verma dismissed Sam to finish with figures of 3.1-1-2-4.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (April 7, 2014, 14:52 GMT)

Superb come back by Kerala especially after 2 losses..Its indeed a wonderful job to beat TN,Karnataka and Andhra..Would love to see when they lock horns with big guns of Indian cricket...Delhi,Mumbai,Bengal and Baroda..Wish they can make a big impact..Good luck team Kerala..

Posted by RajeshNaik on (April 6, 2014, 2:55 GMT)

Commendable performance from Goa. For long being the whipping boys, they turned the tables and whipped all the teams who were used to whip them so far! Great performance. Sagun Kamath was the star performer by giving solid starts in all the matches and combined by useful performances from other Goa have surprised all. Off the big 3 (Kar, TN and Hyd), I think for the for the first time any one of them has failed to qualify.

Posted by vipinchirackal on (April 5, 2014, 15:46 GMT)

kerala done it well.after loosing first two matches successive three wins that also against karnataka and tamil nadu.great peformance

Posted by   on (April 5, 2014, 12:59 GMT)

congrats well in the next round

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Baroda v U. Pradesh at Mumbai - Apr 14, 2014
Baroda won by 3 runs
Goa v Gujarat at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
Goa won by 4 wickets (with 30 balls remaining)
Baroda v Kerala at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Kerala won by 22 runs
Delhi v Rajasthan at Mumbai - Apr 12, 2014
Delhi won by 7 runs
Haryana v U. Pradesh at Rajkot - Apr 12, 2014
U. Pradesh won by 6 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days