< Select a city

Wanted quiet, cultured cricketers

Then look no further than Bangalore and Chinnaswamy, home to Dravid, Kumble, Viswanath and Chandrasekhar

Bangalore can be a contradiction. The people can come across as laidback and quiet people and yet ambitious. Its cricketers have certainly mirrored that. They have all have been quiet cultured men who played the game with great success. The city and the state have produced some of the best Indian players. At one point, in the late '90s, nearly 3/4th of the Indian team came from Karnataka.

Bangalore didn't enjoy the British patronage of cricket that was extended to the port cities of Bombay, Calcutta or Chennai. It was only in the late '50s and '60s that Bangalore began to emerge as a serious competitor. Over the next couple of decades cricket won institutional support from banks and public sector units while private, corporate sponsorship came in the '90s.

Cricketing history has reflected the realities of the society. Karnataka have a long-standing water dispute with Tamil Nadu and its embers can be found in their cricketing rivalry as well. There have been numerous cases of crowd troubles in the encounters between the two teams in the past.

The venue
Originally named the Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, the ground was renamed after M Chinnaswamy, who was the president of the Indian board from 1977 until 1980. It also houses the National Cricket Academy. The stadium was given Test status in 1974-75 and hosted West Indies in the opening match and it hosted its first ODI in 1982.

Ground page | Fixtures | Map

Great matches
India v Pakistan, World Cup quarter-final, March 1996
It was the first game played under the flood-lights in this stadium. Wasim Akram pulled out of the game at the last minute and India moved slowly to 168 for 2. It was Ajay Jadeja who provided the late impetus with a 25-ball 45 that included a thrilling counterattack against Waqar Younis whose first eight overs had cost just 27. Chasing 288, Pakistan reached 113 for 2 from 15 overs but started to derail after Aamir Sohail fell, slashing wildly at Venkatesh Prasad.

India v Australia, Titan Cup, October 1996
Mark Taylor made his first ODI hundred in his 98th game but Australia collapsed to post 215. India looked down and out when Sachin Tendulkar was eighth out at 164 but Javagal Srinath and Anil Kumble starred with an unbroken match-winning stand of 52 in seven overs.

Top performers in ODIs
Most runs Sachin Tendulkar, 534 at 48.54 | Top score Andrew Strauss, 158 v India
Most wickets Zaheer Khan, 14 wickets at 25.85 | Best bowling Yuvraj Singh, 5 for 31

Major players
Rahul Dravid | Anil Kumble | Bhagwath Chandrasekhar | Gundappa Vishwanath | Javagal Srinath | Venkatesh Prasad | Roger Binny | Erapalli Prasanna

Home team
Karnataka have won the Ranji Trophy six times and has come second five times. The Karnataka-Tamil Nadu rivalry matched the Mumbai-Delhi contests in intensity and in its following. Its most recent wins were in the 1998-99 season and the 1997-98 season. They reached the final in 2009-10 but lost out to Mumbai in a thriller.

The ICC pitch committee had expressed few concerns over "the worn-out pitch and the shabby outfield" during an inspection in February 2010 but they were satisfied with the work done on it after that. It was named the "best ground" after the IPL 2010. The local IPL team, Royal Challengers Bangalore, reached the tournament final in 2009 and 2011.