ICC World Twenty20 / News

Five suspended World Cup officials miss out

Twenty20 World Championship officials named

Cricinfo staff

July 26, 2007

Text size: A | A

Ranjan Madugalle, head of the ICC's Elite Panel, leads the referee's list © Getty Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named the three match referees and nine umpires that will officiate during the Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa.

The referees for the 27-match event, scheduled to take place between September 11 to 24, are Ranjan Madugalle, Mike Procter and Chris Broad. All three are part of the ICC's Elite Panel. The nine umpires include five officials from the Elite Panel - Mark Benson, Billy Doctrove, Daryl Harper, Asad Rauf and Simon Taufel - and four from the International Panel - Steve Davis, Ian Howell, Nigel Llong and Tony Hill.

As expected, the five match officials whose combined errors caused the World Cup final in Barbados to be completed amid farcical scenes of near-darkness have not been included. The two on-field umpires from the World Cup final, Steve Bucknor and Aleem Dar; the reserve umpires Rudi Koertzen and Billy Bowden, and the match referee, Jeff Crowe, were last month suspended for the duration of the Twenty20 World Championship.

The ICC announced that the match appointments for the initial stage of the tournament would be made shortly.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Chris Broad | Ranjan Madugalle | Mike Procter
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20
Teams: South Africa
Tournament Results
India v Pakistan at Johannesburg - Sep 24, 2007
India won by 5 runs
Australia v India at Durban - Sep 22, 2007
India won by 15 runs
New Zealand v Pakistan at Cape Town - Sep 22, 2007
Pakistan won by 6 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
South Africa v India at Durban - Sep 20, 2007
India won by 37 runs
Bangladesh v Pakistan at Cape Town - Sep 20, 2007
Pakistan won by 4 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Australia v Sri Lanka at Cape Town - Sep 20, 2007
Australia won by 10 wickets (with 58 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days