ICC World Twenty20 / News

Twenty20 World Championship

Pollard named in West Indies' Twenty20 squad

Cricinfo staff

July 26, 2007

Text size: A | A

An exciting talent: Kieron Pollard was named in the squad of 30 © The Nation
West Indies have announced their provisional 30-man squad for the Twenty20 World Championship in South Africa in September.

The squad blends experience with youth and many of West Indies' provisional 30 for the World Cup, held earlier this year, have been included. Alongside the usual faces, such as Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, are some lesser-known names: Gavin Tonge, the West Indies A bowler and William Perkins, the Trinidad batsman.

Perkins joins Kieron Pollard, the very highly regarded young allrounder, in the squad following their excellent performances for Trinidad & Tobago in last year's Stanford 20/20 tournament. Their side lost to Guyana in the final, but both impressed with the purity of their strokeplay. There were, however, no places for Daren Ganga or Corey Collymore.

West Indies squad Ramnaresh Sarwan (capt), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Patrick Browne, Devon Smith, Marlon Samuels, Narsingh Deonarine, Travis Dowlin, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Lendl Simmons, Austin Richards, Rawl Lewis, Carlton Baugh, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Kieron Pollard, William Perkins, Pedro Collins, Esuan Crandon, Brenton Parchment, Andre Fletcher, Ravi Rampaul, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Jerome Taylor, Gavin Tonge.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
India v Pakistan at Johannesburg - Sep 24, 2007
India won by 5 runs
Australia v India at Durban - Sep 22, 2007
India won by 15 runs
New Zealand v Pakistan at Cape Town - Sep 22, 2007
Pakistan won by 6 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
South Africa v India at Durban - Sep 20, 2007
India won by 37 runs
Bangladesh v Pakistan at Cape Town - Sep 20, 2007
Pakistan won by 4 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Australia v Sri Lanka at Cape Town - Sep 20, 2007
Australia won by 10 wickets (with 58 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days