Victory Day T20 Cup December 23, 2013

Abahani bowlers seal 77-run victory

ESPNcricinfo staff

Abahani picked up their first win in the Victory Day T20 competition, beating Mohammedan Sporting Club by 77 runs. Captain Mushfiqur Rahim starred with the bat to lead them to the comfortable victory.

Batting first, Abahani posted 172 for 8 in 20 overs, with Mushfiqur making 59 off 38 balls. He hit eight fours and a six, adding 70 runs for the third wicket with Soumya Sarkar, who made a 33-ball 37. Later, Ziaur Rahman smashed three sixes in his 24 off 11 balls to take Abahani to 172.

The Abahani bowlers combined well to bowl out Mohammedan for just 95 runs in 14.2 overs. Subashis Roy, Farhad Reza, Nabil Samad and Suhrawadi Shuvo took two wickets each.

Prime Bank Cricket Club also picked up their first win of the competition, trouncing UCB-BCB XI by seven wickets. Pace bowler Shahadat Hossain starred with the ball while Sabbir Rahman scored a half-century.

Batting first, UCB-BCB XI were kept down to 123 for 8 in 20 overs, with Marshall Ayub top-scoring with 40 off 30 balls. Shahadat took three wickets, including the prized scalp of captain Tamim Iqbal for five. He later removed Muktar Ali and Delwar Hossain.

Sabbir was unbeaten on 50 off 41 balls with six fours and a six. Shakib made second highest with 33 off 25 balls with two fours.