Victory Day T20 Cup December 29, 2013

Tamim slams 130 in UCB-BCB XI win


Tamim Iqbal slammed his maiden T20 hundred, an innings which helped UCB-BCB XI to a place in the final. The 29-run win against Mohammedan Sporting Club decided the virtual semifinal, after both teams were locked on three wins each in the tournament.

Batting first, UCB-BCB piled up 217 for 4, with Tamim making 130 off 64 balls. He started off the innings with two consecutive boundaries off Mashrafe Mortaza. In the 12th over, he hit two sixes and a four off Dewan Sabbir, which got him to the half-century. An over later, he smacked 20 runs, including a six and three consecutive fours off Mashrafe.

His first fifty came off 35 balls, and the second came in the next 17 balls, as he completed the hundred in the 15th over with a boundary off Alauddin Babu. Tamim struck 16 boundaries and four sixes to finally score a T20 hundred. During the innings, he added 137 runs for the second wicket with Mithun Ali, who made 41 off 27 balls.

Jahurul Islam led the counter-attack for Mohammedan Sporting Club in their reply, making 80 off just 31 balls with seven boundaries and six sixes. By the time he got out, Mohammedan were 118 for 1 in the ninth over. But his exit triggered a collapse, and they never recovered. They were finally bowled out for 188 runs in 18.4 overs, with Muktar Ali taking three wickets.

UCB-BCB XI will take on Prime Bank Cricket Club in the final, after they beat Abahani Limited by 16 runs.

Batting first, Prime Bank made 175 for 6, with Anamul Haque scoring 69. He struck five fours and three sixes in his 43-ball innings. He added 62 runs for the third wicket with Sabbir Rahman, taking Prime Bank to a strong position.

In reply, Abahani lost early wickets and kept on losing wickets as the chase wore on. Nazmul Hossain Milon was unbeaten on 46 off 38 balls, but it was not enough as Abahani were confined to 159 for 5.

The final will be held at the Shere Bangla National Stadium on Tuesday.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Hasib on December 30, 2013, 21:45 GMT

    This is the best team available: Tamim, Anamul, Shamsur, Shakib, Mushfiq, Mominul, Nasir, Mashrafe, Gazi/Mahmudullah, Razzak, Al Amin.. Though neither Mashrafe nor Al-Amin are good enough. A 3rd fast bowling allrounder would be useful as well, but in BD, 2 will be enough. I would appoint Nasir as the T20 captain.

  • Nasim on December 30, 2013, 15:09 GMT

    The first 6/7 players are almost exactly the same in our proposed teams so far and the dispute lies over the last 4/3 players, and the deficit in our bowling department is evident. However, there is hope for the future. We have few young pacers in the likes of Taskin Ahmed, Abu Haider, Mustafizur Rahman and also leg-spinners like Noor Hossain and Jubair Hossain who, if nurtured carefully, could lift the standards all up...

  • Golam on December 30, 2013, 9:31 GMT

    All that talk ...batting / batting & batting ? What about the bowling & the bowlers ? The most important 120 balls !! Beside Shakib we have no guaranteed "stingy bowlers" in team! We must have the bests ! Gazi and Nasir (slow pace) might work but who will fill those remaining overs? What are our proposals??

  • Dummy4 on December 30, 2013, 8:56 GMT

    Bangladesh's batting looks solid but bowling is too predictable and toothless for T20 cricket. Hopefully they can work on that before the World cup. My squad - Tamim, Shamsur, Anamul, Shakib, Mushfiq, Mominul, Nasir, Mash, Gazi, Razzak, Al Amin

  • Android on December 29, 2013, 23:30 GMT

    Tiger the killer: Bro you got a nice send of the lineup but you gotta know 8 batsmen in T20 Isn't justice at its best. 7 Is the way to go. Mithun was successful before the T20 WC 2009 as soon as practice matches showed up with bigger opponents he failed.. If I am correct it was BD VS BD A and he was in BD A and he scored 13 Off 3 matches and did bad vs MP team from India too

  • NAIM on December 29, 2013, 19:59 GMT

    Fardin Kibria> Mithun Ali is very consistent in this World T20 11 was 1.Tamim 2. Anamul 3. Shamsur 4. Shakib 5. Mushfique 6. Nasir 7. Sabbir/Mithun 8. Mominul 9. Gazi 10. Mashrafi 11. Al Amin my 7 bowlers for t20 is Mashrafi, Al Amin, Shakib, Gazi, Mominul, Nasir, Sabbir Reserved Player: Mahmudullah, Mithun, Rubel(he is not my 11 because he cant bat), Zia(yes he hit sixes but evenly cant take singles at regular intervals)......every batsman give license to hoick down the track sixes....even they got out TiGERS HAVE BIG BATTING LINEUP.

  • Muhammad Rakibul on December 29, 2013, 17:33 GMT

    Splendid innings by Tamim. His innings is so far the best one by any batsman who have ever batted in T20 format on Bangladeshi grounds. He also helped his team to make the record of highest T20 total in Bangladesh. Hope he'll continue his form for the national team in upcoming season.

  • Android on December 29, 2013, 17:23 GMT

    Mashrafe Factor is bigger than it gets!!!

  • Android on December 29, 2013, 17:22 GMT

    Warm coffee there's something wrong with that lineup. this should be the lineup. Tamim, Anamul, Shamsur, Mushy, Shakib, Naeem, Nasir, Mash, Gaz, Razzak, Nazmul/ AlAmin. Reserves: Mahmdullah, Sabbir, Mominul, AlAmin/Nazmul,

  • Jay on December 29, 2013, 15:49 GMT

    tamim dont fade away again for next 2-3 years. we want to see you like this all the time.

  • No featured comments at the moment.