Bangladesh in West Indies 2014 August 24, 2014

Injured Badree to miss Bangladesh T20

ESPNcricinfo staff

Samuel Badree, the West Indies legspinner, will miss the only T20 against Bangladesh due to an injury. Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn has replaced Badree in the team.

Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, who did not play the T20 home series against New Zealand in July, were also named in the 13-member squad for the match, which will be played on August 27 in Basseterre. The pair have replaced Christopher Barnwell and Darren Bravo from the squad for the T20s against New Zealand.

Badree, the top-ranked T20 bowler in the world, has played 12 games this year, picking up 19 wickets, including a haul of 4 for 15 against Bangladesh in the World T20. Benn, who made a comeback to international cricket during the Tests against New Zealand, last played a T20 for West Indies in May 2010.

West Indies T20 squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith
In: Sulieman Benn, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo
Out: Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Christopher Barnwell

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Satesh on August 27, 2014, 0:43 GMT

    Do agree with this team but here is my batting order from those selected. Sheldon Cottrell and Andre Fletcher will not play. Gayle MUST bat in the middle - PLEASE!!! 1 Dwayne Smith 2 Lendl Simmons 3 Denesh Ramdin 4 Chris Gayle 5 Kieron Pollard 6 Darren Sammy 7 Dwayne Bravo 8 Andre Russell 9 Sunil Narine 10 Sulieman Benn and 11 Krishmar Santokie Santoki and Benn opens the bowling and Dwayne Bravo must not bowl after the 15th over. Ramdin bats at 3 - he is the BEST batsman in this team and Gayle must bat through the middle overs. Sammy must play as a batting captain. Thanks

  • Dummy4 on August 26, 2014, 16:51 GMT

    Well, I hope that the reason Rampaul, Roach, Holder and Taylor were not selected is because they want them to be rested. We have a home test series, followed by tours to India, South Africa, and then the World Cup. And you would think that these four, with Narine, will form the core of our bowling attack if we are to win anything. Can't risk injury or burn out.

  • Nacho on August 26, 2014, 5:52 GMT

    In the limited formats and also in Test format, young talented Evin Lewis should be considered being drafted into the Squad for WI. We shouldn't wait until Gayle and others are ready to retire or get seriously injured (pls. God forbid) to then start to look for young talented WI players, especially in the Batting department....Remember 'Down-Under' will be rough to our WI Batting unit, so we need to groom a youngster as Evin Lewis from now. Yes, WC is approaching, but long-term and of course in interim, these youngsters still need the grooming. - Pls. note this vital thought, distinguished panel of 'new' WI selectors, and supporters...Also, Rampaul, Roach, Holder should be considered in the T-20 bowling set-up, along with Santokie, Badree, and etc...FAIR is FAIR, dear ladies and gentlemen.

  • Dummy4 on August 25, 2014, 7:39 GMT

    Is there anyway we can drop the Wi 'fans' for a couple of games? It is obvious that they support only their country's players and people like Darren Sammy who is from a small country takes the flak. He is No.1 in wickets for Wi with a better run rate than Rampaul, Roach, Taylor, Edwards, Pollard and Bravo. He is No7 in terms of runs for Wi and his strike rate of 151 is the highest for all batsmen with more than 20 runs to their credit. He is No2 in number of catches behind Bravo. He has more wins as captain of Wi than loses, has won a world T20 crown and did not do badly in the last edition also. So what was the reason that they wanted him out of the team again?

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 19:02 GMT

    I agree with the comments asking about why no Rampaul. He deserves a place in the team. Also Evin Lewis over Fletcher any day. However, Cottrell bowled well in the CPL so not a bad pick. Also those of us calling for DJ Bravo's head haven't been following much T20 cricket recently, he is a very good finisher and has been a key part of Chennai Super Kings IPL wins. He is a must in our T20 lineup. As for Sammy, I'm ambivalent - Russell is now becoming reliable at performing the role he has done well at, but Sammy can still be dangerous in that role, despite him not bowling well much recently.

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 19:01 GMT

    As every WIndians crickets fans know that Rampaul is successful T20 bowler who should be on this team; why is not there?

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 18:51 GMT

    WI is an outstanding T20 side Badree misses out becuase of injury. Not happy with the selection of fast bowlers Kemar Roach, Ravi Rampal, Jerome Taylor, Jason Holder should have been considered and some of them taken in the side

  • Jack on August 24, 2014, 17:38 GMT

    This team must have been selected by the previous selection panel. I cannot believe that this current panel could blatantly disenfranchise the young WI players and continue the policy of playing the failed, experienced players. Both Sammy and DJ Bravo should not be on any WI team. Both continue to be captains. Fletcher and Simmonds are on the same team. From the CPL, the world knows who is better. Where is Lewis? He is the best young T20 player over the last two years. How does he feel watching DJ Bravo and Fletcher play? Rampaul must also be aggrieved when both Bravo and Sammy are ahead of him. We WI fans are becoming frustrated with the recycling when surgical precision is demanded in decision making.

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 17:22 GMT

    Let's hope that this is a "one off" team for this "one off" match ! Too many 'bits and pieces' players instead of proper batsmen (e.g Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo) and front line wicket taking bowlers (e.g Ravi Rampaul and Jerome Taylor). New selection committee needs to get it right from the 'get go' !!

  • Dummy4 on August 24, 2014, 17:15 GMT

    I agree with the comments WI must pick players and not names

  • No featured comments at the moment.