Bangladesh in West Indies 2014 August 29, 2014

Narine, Russell pick CLT20 over Tests

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Indies spinner Sunil Narine and allrounder Andre Russell were considered for selection for the first Test against Bangladesh in St Vincent but opted to play in the Champions League T20 in India instead. The WICB said their "decisions will not have any deleterious effect on consideration for future West Indies selection" because the CLT20 had "an ICC approved window on the international schedule."

Both Narine and Russel play for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. Narine has played six Tests for West Indies, while Russell has played only one, against Sri Lanka in 2010.

The qualifying round of the Champions League begins on September 13, the day the second Test against Bangladesh commences. Apart from players in the Barbados Tridents squad that won the Caribbean Premier League, seven other West Indies players are representing IPL franchises in the Champions League. They are: Narine, Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith and Samuel Badree.

Fast bowler Jason Holder, who made his debut in West Indies' most recent Test - against New Zealand in Barbados in June - was part of the Barbados Tridents squad released by the CLT20, but has been picked for the first Test against Bangladesh.

Narine had not been considered for selection for all three home Tests against New Zealand after opting to play for Knight Riders in the IPL final on June 1. It caused him to miss the start of a West Indies training camp ahead of the first Test starting on June 8. Narine's absence paved the way for Shane Shillingford and Sulieman Benn to make their return to Test cricket.

The 13-man squad for the first Test against Bangladesh was the first one picked by the new WICB selection panel led by Clive Lloyd. The only change from the previous West Indies squad was reserve batsman Leon Johnson being dropped.

West Indies squad: Denesh Ramdin (capt), Chris Gayle, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Sulieman Benn, Shane Shillingford.