West Indies v India, only Twenty20, Trinidad June 4, 2011

Reactions and distractions

ESPNcricinfo presents the Plays of the Day from the one-off Twenty20 between West Indies and India at Port of Spain

The reaction of the day - I

It went off the bat. It really did. Surely, Shikhar Dhawan felt the impact? It was a short ball from Darren Sammy and Dhawan made a lame attempt at an upper cut. The ball lobbed up to the wicketkeeper, the umpire nodded his head to suggest it was out; perhaps he felt it was so clearly out that he didn't have to raise the finger, but he had to since Dhawan didn't budge. And as he trudged off ever so slowly, Dhawan even had a wry grin as though he had been wrongly given out. Strange.

The reaction of the day - II

Lendl Simmons couldn't believe it when he was given out. He was cramped for room by an offbreak from R Ashwin and the ball seemed to go off the thigh and bounce off Parthiv Patel's helmet. Never mind whether there was an edge or not, since a batsman cannot be given out if the ball touches the external protective gear of a fielder. His partner Andre Fletcher even tried to argue the case, but the umpires did not agree. Perhaps they just didn't see the impact with the helmet. Simmons had to depart. Shame.

The effort of the day

It was a free-hit and S Badrinath lifted it to the left of long-off, but Ashley Nurse was in some mood. He dashed across, flung himself full-length to his left and caught the ball with both hands. It was an outstanding effort but he couldn't help but touch the ropes before he managed to throw the ball inside the boundary. Pity.

The flying turf of the day

It happened off the fifth delivery of the day. When Ravi Rampaul landed the ball on a length, a piece of the pitch flew up. It was the sign of things to come. It proved a slow turning track. If such surfaces persist through the series, things are going to be difficult for West Indies.

The distraction of the day

It came from Chris Gayle. Dressed in a white costume, he was seen in the stands sitting with Jerome Taylor. As the game progressed, he tweeted that he planned to move to the Trini Posse stands. As the game neared the end, Gayle was seen there, mixing with the crowd and posing for photographs. Christopher Barnwell then launched a massive six and the cheer-girls, standing in front of Gayle, swayed ever so joyously. Gayle smiled and waved a small white towel that he held in his hands. Later he even tweeted: "WI Fans..Don't worry about a thing,cause every little things gonna be alright..." (sic). Were the white flag and the tweet that followed signs that he has reached some sort of compromise with the board? Hope floats.

Sriram Veera is a staff writer at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on June 7, 2011, 11:15 GMT

    The umpiring blunders continue against an already struggling WI.....This at home also.....Hard luck boys

  • al on June 7, 2011, 2:02 GMT

    @Jim1207: I think the rule and it's reasoning is clear to everyone but you. PErhaps you should take it up with ICC.

  • shahid on June 6, 2011, 0:41 GMT

    A bad decision can change the result. specially if it's about a in form batsman.

  • Mohan on June 5, 2011, 15:15 GMT

    Another incident missed out when Badrinath was reprieved by the umpire when he did not call the third umpire for a stumping when his foot was on the line. Just a case of nervous day for the umpires.Both are supposed to be from West-Indies and an international umpire from the elite panel would have certainly helped settle the nerves of the local ones during the crictical stages of decision making.

  • Ravi Prakash on June 5, 2011, 8:12 GMT

    Why is that so many comments opposing the external protective gear??? I feel its perfectly fine. Look at 'Crespo77' comments. There should not be a question raised on this if you know Cricket. Don't compare this with cases like Pieterson's helmet wicket or Trott's hat touching the rope. Absolutely senseless..

  • sandeep on June 5, 2011, 6:31 GMT

    The reaction of the day - II :- Well unfortunately he was not out because ball didn't touch bat or bat gloves and not because ball touches keeper helmet ("since a batsman cannot be given out if the ball touches the external protective gear of a fielder.") then why batsman is given out when keeper caches with the gloves which actually is an external protective gear and also for the keeper pads. Please answer...

    The effort of the day :- Isn't your effort of the day was actually was a "six" instead of given four according to your so called rules.

  • bala on June 5, 2011, 5:59 GMT

    @Vibrant_patel Spot on m8. Such a thing happened to Kevin Pietersen when his helmet flew off and hit the stumps. Also in the WC Trott caught the ball and his hat was touching the rope. It was given 6. The MCC needs to look into these laws.

  • J Ranjith on June 5, 2011, 4:22 GMT

    Crespo77, Yes, agreed for a fielder. But the keeper is anyway going to stand close to the stumps for a spinner or a medium pace bowler so his helmet must not be a reason for keeper standing near the batsman, keepers have stood for long near to the stumps and I still do not understand how keeper's helmet is going to be infavourable to batsman so as to penalise fielding team. What you said is true for a fielder, I am absolutely in line with you. Though I understand all the reasons you have told and why the cricket rule book is written so, I feel keeper's helmet should not be emphasized. If a keeper uses helmet intentionally to ricochet, umpire will come to know and can not give batsman out at that time. If it is accidental, I feel that keeper's helmet must not be a problem. We have seen catches allowed for a keeper or fielder catching the ball with two legs (with no fielding pads of course) with no hands involved, so I feel sorry for keeper being penalized for his helmet.

  • Shripad on June 5, 2011, 4:01 GMT

    I guess for the last few matches why cricinfo is really writing against Indian players and criticizing Indian players in every aspect. You should be ashamed of this. You dot even congratulate Indian team on their win in 1st T20 match against WI. Indian team won comfortably and whats your title India win despite.... Suddenly cricinfo seems to be edited by very bias members. Reaction and distraction of the day simply written to show that India didnt won they were gifted a win by WI.

  • Bimal on June 5, 2011, 3:56 GMT

    If Helmet considered to be external gear of a player , then what decision would made if situation will come such that.... (1) If Batsmen's helmet touches the stumps while running or batting or any other means & dislodge the bails...??? (Normal Result : HIT WICKET; as per this Rule, it should be Not-Out) (2) If Wicket-Keeper Catches the ball running towards boundry ropes (mostly behind the wickets) & in the process fell down & his helmet touch the rope...?? (Normal Result : Not-Out with 6 runs given ; as per this Rule, it should be OUT)

  • No featured comments at the moment.