Preparations for Australian tour November 6, 2004

West Indies announce probables list

Cricinfo staff

The West Indies board has announced a list of 25 players, from which a squad will be picked for the tri-series in Australia in January. After a triumphant Champions Trophy campaign, West Indies face another stiff challenge against Pakistan and Australia in the VB Series, beginning on January 14.

Many players, like Runako Morton and Xavier Marshall, were rewarded for their good performances in the ongoing Regional Tournament. Strangely there was no specialist spinner in the whole list.

The squad also included other newcomers like Deighton Butler, Sherwin Ganga and Denesh Ramdin. Carlton Baugh, the wicketkeeper, and Sylvester Joseph were the surprise exclusions. All the 13 players who were part of the Champions Trophy win were included.

List of 25 probables
Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Courtney Brown, Deighton Butler, Shivnarine Chanderpaul , Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Narsingh Deonarine, Sherwin Ganga, Darren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Reon King, Brian Lara, Xavier Marshall, Runako Morton , Ricardo Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Dwight Washington.