WICB Cup 2008-09, 6th round

Leeward Islands book place in semi-finals

Cricinfo staff

November 19, 2008

Text size: A | A

Leeward Islands booked their place in the semi-finals with a 70-run win over Windwards Islands at the Uitvlugt Community Centre Ground, West Demerara on Wednesday. Choosing to bat, Leewards were dismissed for 172 in 48.4 overs, with left-arm spinner Dennis George taking 3 for 7 in his ten overs, four of which were maidens. Only four of Leewards' batsmen reached double figures - all going past 25 - with opener Austin Richards top scoring with 37. Leewards were in a trouble at 96 for 7; however, wicketkeeper Devon Thomas and Justin Athanaze put on 59 runs for the eighth wicket to rescue their side. Leewards' win with a bonus point was sealed by a four-wicket haul for opening bowler Gavin Tonge, and some tidy back-up from spinners Omari Banks and Anthony Martin.

At the Providence Stadium, hosts Guyana, already knocked out of the competition, finished their campaign in style with a seven-wicket win over Canada. Set a target of 165, Guyana reached home in 36.2 overs, with Steven Jacobs, playing his second List A game, scoring an unbeaten 54 after the openers fell in the 30s. Canada, who bowed out with no wins in four matches, played out their 50 overs to score 164 for 4. Sunil Dhaniram, their captain, made 53 not out.

Trinidad and Tobago also ended the group phase on 16 points, but had a higher net run-rate compared to Leewards, and will now face defending champions Jamaica in the semi-finals. Against Combined Campuses and Colleges at Bourda, they piled up 282 for 9 in 50 overs and then dismissed the opposition for 197 in 44.4 overs. Kieron Pollard scored 54, Darren Bravo 45, Lendl Simmons 42, and Adrian Barath 36 to help Trinidad and Tobago to the third-highest total of the tournament. Romel Currency once again starred for CCC with a 62, but his team fell way short of their target.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st unofficial ODI: Sri Lanka A v W. Indies A at Dambulla - Nov 1
Sri Lanka A won by 6 runs (D/L method)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd unofficial ODI: Sri Lanka A v W. Indies A at Kurunegala
Nov 3, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
3rd unofficial ODI: Sri Lanka A v W. Indies A at Colombo (SSC)
Nov 5, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days