ICC Women's World Twenty20 2009

Nero back in Windies women's squad for World Twenty20

Cricinfo staff

May 12, 2009

Text size: A | A

West Indies have stuck with largely the same women's squad for next month's World Twenty20 that represented them at the World Cup earlier this year in Australia. The only new face is batsman Juliana Nero, who had been in the original squad for the World Cup but missed out due to a hamstring injury.

Two players who made the trip to Australia miss out: Afy Fletcher, who took two wickets at 36.50 in five matches, and Geneille Greaves, who only got one game.

Merissa Aguilleira continues to be the captain, and Kirbyina Alexander will be her deputy. The pair had led West Indies to a creditable fifth-place finish in the World Cup in March.

The women's World Twenty20 kicks off on June 11, with West Indies taking on South Africa in Taunton. The other teams in West Indies' group are New Zealand and Australia.

West Indies squad Merissa Aguilleira (capt), Kirbyina Alexander (vice-captain), Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Cordel Jack, Stacy-Ann King, Pamela Lavine, Debbie-Ann Lewis, Anisa Mohammed, Juliana Nero, Shakera Selman, Danielle Small, Charlene Taitt, Stafanie Taylor

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd Test: West Indies v Bangladesh at Gros Islet - Sep 13-17
West Indies 380 & 208/4 Bangladesh 161
WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 17, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
4th ODI: WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 19, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
5th Match, Group B: Tridents v Kings XI at Mohali
Sep 20, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
1st T20I: WI Women v NZ Women at Kingstown
Sep 23, 2014 (14:00 local | 18:00 GMT | 14:00 EDT | 13:00 CDT | 11:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days