West Indies XI v Ireland, Jamaica

Chanderpaul, Benn star in 18-run victory

Cricinfo staff

April 18, 2010

Text size: A | A

West Indies XI 171 for 7 (Chanderpaul 64, Hinds 45, Cusack 3-19) beat Ireland 153 for 7 (O'Brien 62, Stirling 33, Benn 3-32) by 18 runs

Shivnarine Chanderpaul hit a quick 18, India v West Indies, ICC World Twenty20 Super Eights, Lord's, June 12, 2009
Shivnarine Chanderpaul's fluent 64 took West Indies to a match-winning score of 171 © Getty Images
Shivnarine Chanderpaul's 64 and Sulieman Benn's three-wicket haul were the highlights of West Indies' 18-run victory in the second Twenty20 at the Sabina Park. The win gives the hosts a 2-0 lead with one match to play.

Asked to bat by the visitors, West Indies motored along to 171 for 7, on the back of a 72-run stand off 49 balls between Chanderpaul and Wavell Hinds. Chanderpaul's 64 came off 47 deliveries with eight fours and two sixes while Hinds struck three fours and two sixes in his 29-ball blitz.

West Indies were set for a strong finish by the two left-handers, but the middle order could not drive home the advantage. Alex Cusack grabbed 3 for 19 in three overs as five wickets fell for 26 runs.

Ireland's chase got off to a frenetic start thanks to Paul Stirling who stroked 33 from 19 balls with four fours and a six, and captain William Porterfield who made 17. Niall O'Brien who came in next kept up the scoring rate with a 44-ball 62, inclusive of six fours and two sixes. Ireland looked set for a possible upset, when Chanderpaul ran out Stirling to set the visitors back.

Benn then intervened to ensure there would be no surprise, with a stifling spell of 3 for 32. Cusack crawled to 15 off 22 boundary-less balls as the chase lost momentum and eventually floundered. Benn was supported well by his spinning colleagues Nikita Miller and Narsingh Deonarine, who turned in 1 for 37 in seven overs between them.

With 24 required of the final over, the game was close to over when Benn almost grabbed a hat-trick, but it was not to be. The third Twenty20 fixture is on Sunday.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
4th ODI: WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 19, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
5th Match, Group B: Tridents v Kings XI at Mohali
Sep 20, 2014 (20:00 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
1st T20I: WI Women v NZ Women at Kingstown
Sep 23, 2014 (14:00 local | 18:00 GMT | 14:00 EDT | 13:00 CDT | 11:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: WI Women v NZ Women at Kingstown
Sep 25, 2014 (14:00 local | 18:00 GMT | 14:00 EDT | 13:00 CDT | 11:00 PDT)
12th Match, Group B: Tridents v Cape Cobras at Mohali
Sep 26, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days