West Indies news August 31, 2010

Sarwan, Taylor and Ramdin cut from WI contract list

Cricinfo staff

Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor and Denesh Ramdin have been demoted from the West Indies contract list while Kieron Pollard and Adrian Barath have been promoted to full deals. The fitness of Sarwan, a former captain, and Narsingh Deonarine was "deemed unsatisfactory" by the selectors while Taylor, the fast bowler, was not helped by his limited availability following a back injury.

Sarwan, who was most recently affected by a hamstring problem, has not played a Test since 2009 and he has appeared in four ODIs and seven Twenty20s this year. He has a top score of 100 not out against Ireland but he was less effective when facing the better teams. Taylor was sent home from the tour of Australia late last year with back stress fractures and has made only nine limited-overs appearances since then.

The wicketkeeper Ramdin and Travis Dowlin, the batsman who has played six Tests, were cut from the list due to poor form. "Ramdin and Dowlin's performances over the past year have been less than favourable in the view of the selection committee," the board said in a statement.

There was better news for Pollard, Barath, Darren Bravo, Shane Shillingford, Nikita Miller and Nelon Pascal, who were given their first central contracts. Pollard has become an international star for his big hitting and medium pace in the limited-overs arenas while Barath, 20, showed his potential with a Test century on debut against Australia last year.

The players have until September 10 to accept the offers. Those outside the contract list are still able to represent West Indies.

Central contracts Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy, Kemar Roach, Brendan Nash, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Shane Shillingford, Kieron Pollard, Nikita Miller, Devon Smith, Ravi Rampaul, Nelon Pascal.

Development contracts Kirk Edwards, Andre Russell, David Bernard Jr., Gavin Tonge, Andre Fletcher, Chadwick Walton, Devendra Bishoo, Assad Fudadin, Imran Khan, Kevin Stoute.