West Indies news September 17, 2012

Narine is T&T's Cricketer of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff

The T&T Cricket Board (TTCB) has named West Indies offspinner Sunil Narine the T&T Cricketer of the Year. The honour comes a day after Narine was named the Emerging Player of the Year award at the ICC Awards in Colombo.

Narine took 31 wickets in three first-class regional four-day games in February this year, enabling him to beat T&T captain Denesh Ramdin, left-arm spinner Kavesh Kantasingh, and bastmen Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard for the award. His 8 for 17 in the second innings against Combined Campuses and Colleges are his career-best first-class bowling figures in an innings - he finished with 13 wickets in the match.

Narine also took 15 wickets in the Regional Super50, being the highest-wicket taker of the tournament, and took seven wickets in six matches in the Caribbean Twenty20 tournament.

T&T's Five National Cricketers of the Year were Narine, Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Ramdin, Pollard and Kantasingh.

West Indies' captain Merissa Aguilleira was adjudged the Women's Player of the Year.

Comments have now been closed for this article