Caribbean Premier League 2013

Gilchrist to join Caribbean Premier League

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 22, 2013

Comments: 13 | Text size: A | A

Adam Gilchrist slog sweeps one to the boundary, Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2011, Dharamsala, May 17, 2011
Adam Gilchrist is the second international franchise player after Ricky Ponting to join the newly created Caribbean Premier League © AFP

Adam Gilchrist, the former Australian wicketkeeper, has become the second international franchise player, after Ricky Ponting, to sign with the newly formed Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The CPL is scheduled to begin on July 29, and conclude on August 26. The tournament involves six franchise countries across the Caribbean: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago. The teams will all have one local and one international icon or 'franchise player' each. Gilchrist and Ponting have not yet been assigned teams.

Gilchrist, who retired in 2008 after the Australia-India series, said he was excited about playing in the League. "The CPL will feature some of the world's best cricketers, and I can't wait to test my skills and play in what is going to be a dynamic and exciting competition," he said. "I have fond memories of playing cricket in the Caribbean. Plus, I love playing the Twenty20 format, and there is absolutely no better place anywhere to do this than the West Indies."

Since his retirement, Gilchrist, like many former internationals, has been involved in the IPL. He led Deccan Chargers to victory in 2009 and has been with Kings XI Punjab, as captain, since 2011.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by clemram on (March 24, 2013, 14:43 GMT)

Does anyone knows the schedule of the cpl and which countries it would be playing..

Posted by Cpt.Meanster on (March 23, 2013, 17:01 GMT)

@riverbaby11: Sadly, that may never happen. The WI season is exactly the same as the Indian season in that, India host or travel away during that time. Besides, there is always the opportunity for lesser known Indians to travel to the CPL but I don't think the BCCI will even allow that.

Posted by sameeratharanga on (March 23, 2013, 16:18 GMT)

IS this CPL clash with Sri lankan premiere league ? I am really love to watch sri lankan players playing in CPL & west Indian players in SLPL in 2013.

Posted by VivGilchrist on (March 23, 2013, 3:35 GMT)

Personally I'd be pushing to get picked up by Barbados.

Posted by   on (March 22, 2013, 23:12 GMT)

I agree with @ ken jones Brian Lara should be invited to play , he is one of if not the best since Sir I V A Richards .All the best to CPL lets get on a roll, And please Caribbean people come out as you always does and support West Indies cricket.

Posted by riverbaby11 on (March 22, 2013, 21:52 GMT)

I hope BCCI allows some Indian players to sign up as well , it will be fun to watch Dhoni and Yuvraj in CPL

Posted by kentjones on (March 22, 2013, 19:55 GMT)

Has Brian Lara been invited to join the CPL? An invitation should be extended to one of our most celebrated cricketers of all time to be a part of this truly novel and historic experience. Many people would come out to get a glimpse of the remarkable and talented Lara, matching wits with the rest of the world's best. If we can have the likes of Ponting and Gilchrist, surely Mr. B.C. Lara, one of the most entertaining and aggressive batsmen of all time and a West Indian, would add great value to the CPL. Come on organisers, get with the programme.

Posted by   on (March 22, 2013, 14:33 GMT)

Ha....ha.... many international cricketers licking there are lips now?

Posted by Unniambady on (March 22, 2013, 13:35 GMT)

Answer is obvious "show me the money.... "

Posted by   on (March 22, 2013, 13:23 GMT)

We west indians are the world champs in T20, and we have the best players in the world- so there is really no need for overseas players. This will continue to be a very caribbean tournament with the major 6 teams playing with most of their own players, with just 6 foreign players...CPL will become just as big as Stanford and WICB T20 tournaments was previously...

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd Test: South Africa v West Indies at Port Elizabeth
Dec 26-30, 2014 (10:30 local | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 02:30 CST | 00:30 PST)
3rd Test: South Africa v West Indies at Cape Town
Jan 2-6, 2015 (10:30 local | 08:30 GMT | 03:30 EST | 02:30 CST | 00:30 PST)
1st T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Cape Town
Jan 9, 2015 (18:00 local | 16:00 GMT | 11:00 EST | 10:00 CST | 08:00 PST)
2nd T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Johannesburg
Jan 11, 2015 (15:00 local | 13:00 GMT | 08:00 EST | 07:00 CST | 05:00 PST)
3rd T20I: South Africa v West Indies at Durban
Jan 14, 2015 (15:00 local | 13:00 GMT | 08:00 EST | 07:00 CST | 05:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days