The success of Sanath Jayasuriya in inspiring Sri Lanka to World Cup victory n March 1996 also inspired a change of policy: he was chosen as one of the Five Cricketers of the Year even though he did not play in the English season. The rest of the Five also came from overseas - Mushtaq Ahmed, Phil Simmons (for his part in lifting Leicestershire to a rare Championship title), Saeed Anwar and Sachin Tendulkar - reflecting a season in which England followed a disappointing World Cup with a narrow victory over India and defeat to Pakistan. There was also a tribute to the umpire Dickie Bird, who had retired, and an article saluting the rise of Shane Warne by another Australian Test spinner, Ashley Mallett.
Editor Matthew Engel
Pages 1440
Price £26.00