Delhi Daredevils v Deccan Chargers, 1st semi-final

Indian Premier League, 2008-09

Nagraj Gollapudi

At Centurion, May 22, 2009 (floodlit). Deccan Chargers won by six wickets. Toss: Deccan Chargers. Delhi Daredevils 153-8 (20 overs) (V. Sehwag 39, T. M. Dilshan 65; R. J. Harris 3-27); Deccan Chargers 154-4 (17.4 overs) (A. C. Gilchrist 85; A. Mishra 3-19). Man of the Match: A. C. Gilchrist.

Adam Gilchrist's ruthless 35-ball assault will be long remembered: he battered a Delhi attack containing two of the tournament's best fast bowlers - the left-arm pair of Nannes and Nehra - to make a challenging target under lights look as simple as making scrambled eggs. He clattered ten fours and five sixes in his 85, putting fine innings by Sehwag and Dilshan for Delhi (who regrouped well after losing Gambhir and Warner for ducks in the first over) into the shade.

© John Wisden & Co.