Ponting fined for dissent
Ricky Ponting's 300th one-day international produced an Australian win but it ended on a slightly sour note for him personally after he was fined for showing dissent at an umpire's decision. Ponting pleaded not guilty to the charge but was docked 30% of his match fee after the match referee Roshan Mahanama found him guilty.
The incident took place during the 23rd over of West Indies' chase when the Australians believed they had Patrick Browne caught behind off the bowling of Michael Clarke. There was a noise as the ball went through to the wicketkeeper Luke Ronchi but replays appeared to suggest it came off the batsman's back leg.
Ponting and his team-mates were already celebrating before they finally looked around at the umpire Norman Malcolm, who turned down the appeal much to Australia's amazement. Ponting moved from his position and apeared to make a comment to Malcolm after the decision was made, leading to a charge being laid by the umpires.
"Although the player pleaded not guilty, after scrutinising the video footage and taking into consideration the evidence submitted by the umpires, I found that his actions were in breach of ICC's Code of Conduct and decided to fine him 30% of his match fee," Mahanama said. Australia won the match by 63 runs to take a 2-0 lead in the series.