West Indies v South Africa, one-day series May 2, 2005

Xavier Marshall recalled to limited overs squad

Cricinfo staff

Dwayne Smith: back in the one-day fold for South African series © Getty Images

Xavier Marshall, the young Jamaican opening batsman, has been recalled to the West Indian squad for the five-match one-day series starting at Sabina Park this weekend. Marshall, 19, made his debut against Australia at Melbourne in January's VB Series, and takes his place in a 13-man squad.

Another returnee is the dashing batsman and medium-pacer Dwayne Smith, whose abilities are well-known to the South Africans after he cracked a thrilling 93-ball century on his Test debut at Newlands in 2003-04.

The remainder of the batting line-up is more familiar. Of the top eight currently playing in the fourth Test at Antigua, the only man who misses out is Narsingh Deonarine, with Courtney Browne again retained behind the stumps ahead of the young pretender, Carlton Baugh.

The bowling, on the other hand, shows wholesale changes, and Browne will be once again reunited with Ian Bradshaw, the left-arm medium-pacer with whom he secured a thrilling two-wicket victory in the final of last year's Champions Trophy. Corey Collymore and Pedro Collins are also recalled ahead of Tino Best, Fidel Edwards and Dwight Washington.

South Africa have added two one-day specialists to their squad, Justin Ontong and Justin Kemp, although a third change could yet be on the cards if Andre Nel's back problem does not respond to treatment. Dale Steyn, currently playing county cricket for Essex, is the likely replacement.

"The road to the 2007 World Cup starts here," said Joey Carew, West Indies' convenor of selectors. "These eight games, five against South Africa and three against Pakistan, give us a chance to begin preparations for the tournament and we will be trying players in certain positions." The first two matches take place in Jamaica on May 7 and 8, with the remainder of the South Africa series scheduled for Barbados and Trinidad.

West Indies squad Shivnarine Chanderpaul (capt), Chris Gayle, Xavier Marshall, Wavell Hinds, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Brian Lara, Dwayne Smith, Dwayne Bravo, Courtney Browne (wk), Corey Collymore, Ian Bradshaw, Pedro Collins, Daren Powell.